Bailey Cates
Bailey Cates is the pen name of American author Cricket McRae, who writes cozy mystery novels under both of the aforementioned names as well as under the name Bailey Cattrell. She has also written one standalone western mystery as K.C. McRae. Bailey earned degrees in philosophy and English from Colorado State University before moving to the Pacific Northwest for 20 years. Besides being a writer, she has worked as a driver’s license examiner, bookseller, newspaper ad manager and a localization program manager for Microsoft. Bailey has returned to Colorado, where she enjoys cooking, gardening, reading, biking, hiking and golfing.

Under the name Cricket McRae, she became a published author in 2007 with the novel Lye in Wait. She debuted under the name Bailey Cates in 2012 with the novel Brownies and Broomsticks. Below is a list of Bailey Cates’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Bailey Cates releases a new book at

Publication Order of Home Crafting Mystery Books

(as Cricket McRae)

Lye in Wait (2007)Description / Buy at
Heaven Preserve Us (2008)Description / Buy at
Spin a Wicked Web (2009)Description / Buy at
Something Borrowed, Something Bleu (2010)Description / Buy at
Wined and Died (2011)Description / Buy at
Deadly Row to Hoe (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Magical Bakery Mystery Books

Brownies and Broomsticks (2012)Description / Buy at
Bewitched, Bothered, and Biscotti (2012)Description / Buy at
Charms and Chocolate Chips (2013)Description / Buy at
Some Enchanted Éclair (2014)Description / Buy at
Magic and Macaroons (2015)Description / Buy at
Spells and Scones (2016)Description / Buy at
Potions and Pastries (2017)Description / Buy at
Cookies and Clairvoyance (2019)Description / Buy at
Witches and Wedding Cake (2020)Description / Buy at
Spirits and Sourdough (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Enchanted Garden Mystery Books

(as Bailey Cattrell)

Daisies for Innocence (2016)Description / Buy at
Nightshade for Warning (2017)Description / Buy at
Marigolds for Malice (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Notes: The Home Crafting Mysteries series was written as Cricket McRae. The Enchanted Garden Mysteries series is written as Bailey Cattrell. The novel Shotgun Moon was written as K.C. McRae.

If You Like Bailey Cates Books, You’ll Love…

Bailey Cates Synopsis: In Shotgun Moon by K.C. McRae, Merry McCoy has served her time. After being convicted of revenge-killing the man who raped her four years prior, Merry has returned to the family ranch in Hazel, Montana. This time, however, she plans on steering clear of the law. But when her cousin Lauri is accused of murdering an ex-boyfriend, Merry can’t let her be railroaded the same way she was. Setting out to prove Lauri’s innocence, Merry gets close to her former flame, Officer Jamie Gutierrez, the only cop around she can trust. With Jamie and a no-holds-barred parole officer backing her up, Merry discovers the town’s good old boys — and girls — still like to play rough.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bailey Cates Books

Leave a Reply