Ben Macintyre is an author, documentarian, and writer-at-large for The Times. He is the author of The Spy and the Traitor: The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War and Agent Zigzag: The True Wartime Story of Eddie Chapman: Lover, Betrayer, Hero, Spy.

Five of the books that Macintyre has written have been turned into documentaries for the BBC. These include Double Cross – The True Story of the D Day Spies and Kim Philby – His Most Intimate Betrayal. Ben attended St John’s College, Cambridge where he went on to graduate with a degree in history in 1985. He has been the recipient of many awards and honours including the 2014 Spear’s Book Award.

Get notified when Ben Macintyre releases a new book at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Forgotten Fatherland (1992)Description / Buy at
The Napoleon of Crime (1997)Description / Buy at
A Foreign Field (2001)Description / Buy at
The Englishman's Daughter (2001)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Would Be King (2004)Description / Buy at
Agent Zigzag (2007)Description / Buy at
For Your Eyes Only (2008)Description / Buy at
The Last Word (2009)Description / Buy at
Operation Mincemeat (2010)Description / Buy at
Double Cross (2012)Description / Buy at
A Spy Among Friends (2014)Description / Buy at
Rogue Heroes (2016)Description / Buy at
The Spy and the Traitor (2018)Description / Buy at
Agent Sonya (2020)Description / Buy at
Prisoners of the Castle (2022)Description / Buy at
The Siege (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ben Macintyre Books, You’ll Love…

The Spy and the Traitor: The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War is the story of a KGB double agent named Oleg Gordievsky. He was the son of two KGB agents who took his own first posting for Russian intelligence in 1968. He would go on to become the top agent in London where he would become involved with MI6 and start working secretly for them from 1973 on. He worked with them for nearly a decade as he helped the West to expose Russian spies and foil intelligence plots. Britain tried to keep the identity of Oleg away from the Americans, but they became obsessed and assigned someone to find out who he was. That man was Aldrich Ames, the same man who would become infamous for secretly spying for the Soviets.

Macintyre is also the author of Agent Sonya: Moscow’s Most Daring Wartime Spy. The book follows a woman who seems to her neighbors to be a mother of three who is living a simple, unassuming life. Her neighbors couldn’t be more wrong though as she was a high-ranking Soviet intelligence officer.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ben Macintyre Books

Leave a Reply