David McCullough is an American author of historical non-fiction books. David McCullough has twice received the Pulitzer Prize, and received two National Book Awards. He has been honored with the National Book Foundation Distinguished Contribution to American Letters Award, the National Humanities Medal, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

David McCullough made his debut as a published author in 1968 with the book The Johnstown Flood. Below is a list of David McCullough’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Johnstown Flood (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Great Bridge (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Path Between the Seas (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mornings on Horseback (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Brave Companions (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Truman (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
John Adams (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Course of Human Events (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
1776 (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Dark Streets Shineth (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Greater Journey (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wright Brothers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The American Spirit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pioneers (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

What If?: The World's Foremost Historians Imagine What Might Have Been(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Records of Our National Life: American History at the National Archives(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The American Experiment: Dialogues on a Dream(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like David McCullough Books, You’ll Love…

David McCullough Synopsis: The Johnstown Flood is a non-fiction book by David McCullough. At the end of the nineteenth century, Johnstown, Pennsylvania, was a booming coal-and-steel town filled with hardworking families striving for a piece of the nation’s burgeoning industrial prosperity. In the mountains above Johnstown, an old earth dam had been hastily rebuilt to create a lake for an exclusive summer resort patronized by the tycoons of that same industrial prosperity, among them Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Frick, and Andrew Mellon. Despite repeated warnings of possible danger, nothing was done about the dam. Then came May 31, 1889, when the dam burst, sending a wall of water thundering down the mountain, smashing through Johnstown, and killing more than 2,000 people. It was a tragedy that became a national scandal.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David McCullough Books

Leave a Reply