Winston Groom was an American author of both fiction and non-fiction. He is best known for his novel Forrest Gump, which was adapted to the Academy Award-winning film by Robert Zemeckis. Groom originally wanted to take after his father and become a lawyer, but ended up choosing to become a writer. He served in the U.S. Army in the ’60s and went to Vietnam. Upon his return, Winston worked as a journalist and then transitioned to being a novelist. Forrest Gump, his most famous work, sold 1.7 million copies worldwide.

Winston Groom began his career as an author in 1978 with the novel Better Times Than These. Winston Groom passed on September 17th, 2020. Below is a list of Winston Groom’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Forrest Gump Books

Publication Order of Forrest Gump Non-Fiction Books

Gumpisms (1994)Description / Buy at
The Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Cookbook (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Better Times Than These (1978)Description / Buy at
As Summer Dies (1980)Description / Buy at
Conversations With the Enemy (1983)Description / Buy at
Only (1984)Description / Buy at
Gone the Sun (1996)Description / Buy at
Such a Pretty, Pretty Girl (1997)Description / Buy at
El Paso (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Shrouds of Glory (1995)Description / Buy at
The Crimson Tide (2000)Description / Buy at
A Storm in Flanders (2002)Description / Buy at
1942 (2005)Description / Buy at
Patriotic Fire (2006)Description / Buy at
Vicksburg, 1863 (2009)Description / Buy at
Kearny's March (2011)Description / Buy at
Shiloh, 1862 (2012)Description / Buy at
Ronald Reagan Our 40th President (2012)Description / Buy at
The Aviators (2013)Description / Buy at
The Generals (2015)Description / Buy at
The Allies (2018)Description / Buy at
The Patriots (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Café(2002)Description / Buy at
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at
Alabama Noir(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: Conversations with the Enemy was co-authored by Duncan Spencer.

If You Like Winston Groom Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Winston Groom Books

Leave a Reply