Jeff Shaara is an American novelist of historical fiction. He is the son of Michael Shaara, who also wrote historical fiction. He has written novels set during the Civil War, US-Mexican War, American Revolution, World War I and World War II.

Jeff Shaara became a published author in 1996 with Gods and Generals, one of the novels he is best known for. Below is a list of Jeff Shaara’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jeff Shaara releases a new book at

Publication Order of World War II: 1939-1945 Books

The Rising Tide (2006)Description / Buy at
The Steel Wave (2008)Description / Buy at
No Less Than Victory (2009)Description / Buy at
The Final Storm (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Civil War: 1861-1865 Books

The Killer Angels (By: Michael Shaara) (1974)Description / Buy at
Gods and Generals (1996)Description / Buy at
The Last Full Measure (1998)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Civil War: 1861-1865 Books

Gods and Generals(1996)Description / Buy at
The Killer Angels (By: Michael Shaara)(1974)Description / Buy at
The Last Full Measure(1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Civil War: 1861-1865, Western Theater Books

A Blaze of Glory (2012)Description / Buy at
A Chain of Thunder (2013)Description / Buy at
The Smoke at Dawn (2014)Description / Buy at
The Fateful Lightning (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of American Revolutionary War: 1770-1783 Books

Rise to Rebellion (2001)Description / Buy at
The Glorious Cause (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gone for Soldiers (2000)Description / Buy at
To the Last Man (2004)Description / Buy at
Jeff Shaara's Civil War Battlefields (2006)Description / Buy at
The Frozen Hours (2017)Description / Buy at
To Wake the Giant (2020)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Claw (2021)Description / Buy at
The Old Lion (2023)Description / Buy at
The Shadow of War (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jeff Shaara Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jeff Shaara Books

Leave a Reply