Ken Follett is a Welsh novelist who writes historical and thriller novels. His books have sold over 100 million copies. Follett started out working for a publisher in London called Everest Books, meanwhile writing on the side as a hobby. When he needed money for some car repairs, he started writing books as Simon Myles to pay them off. Since then, he’s used several other pen names, but has written the majority of his books under his real name.

Follett largely writes standalone novels, but has a few brief series as well. Ken has been writing since The Big Needle was published in 1974. Below is a list of Ken Follett’s books in order of publication and in chronological order:

Get notified when Ken Follett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Apples Carstairs Books

(as Simon Myles)

Publication Order of Piers Roper Books

Publication Order of Kingsbridge Books

The Pillars of the Earth (1989)Description / Buy at
World Without End (2007)Description / Buy at
A Column of Fire (2017)Description / Buy at
The Evening and the Morning (2020)Description / Buy at
The Armor of Light (2023)Description / Buy at
The Evening and the Morning is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Century Trilogy Books

Fall of Giants (2010)Description / Buy at
Winter of the World (2012)Description / Buy at
Edge of Eternity (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Amok (As: Bernard L. Ross) (1976)Description / Buy at
The Modigliani Scandal (1976)Description / Buy at
The Mystery Hideout (1976)Description / Buy at
The Power Twins (1976)Description / Buy at
Paper Money (1977)Description / Buy at
Capricorn One (As: Bernard L. Ross) (1978)Description / Buy at
Eye of the Needle / Storm Island (1978)Description / Buy at
Triple (1979)Description / Buy at
The Key to Rebecca (1980)Description / Buy at
The Man from St. Petersburg (1982)Description / Buy at
Lie Down with Lions (1986)Description / Buy at
Night Over Water (1991)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Fortune (1993)Description / Buy at
A Place Called Freedom (1995)Description / Buy at
The Third Twin (1996)Description / Buy at
The Hammer of Eden (1998)Description / Buy at
Code to Zero (2000)Description / Buy at
Jackdaws (2001)Description / Buy at
Hornet Flight (2002)Description / Buy at
Whiteout (2004)Description / Buy at
Never (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Heist of the Century / Under the Streets of Nice / The Gentleman of 16 July (With: Rene L. Maurice) (1978)Description / Buy at
On Wings of Eagles (1984)Description / Buy at
Bad Faith (2017)Description / Buy at
Notre-Dame (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder On The Railways(2003)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ken Follett Books, You’ll Love…

Notes: The Apples Carstairs books were written under the pseudonym of Simon Myles. Amok: King of Legend and Capricorn One were written under the pseudonym of Bernard L. Ross. The Modigliani Scandal was written under the pseudonym of Zachary Stone. The Mystery Hideout and The Power Twins were written under the pseudonym of Martin Martinsen.

The Big Needle was also published as The Big Apple in the United States. The Mystery Hideout was also published as The Secret of Kellerman’s Studio. Eye of the Needle was also published as Storm Island.

Follett does not consider Heist of the Century to be his book, but rather a re-write of Rene Louis Maurice’s original French work. It was also published under the titles of The Gentleman of 16 July, Under the Streets of Nice and Robbery Under the Streets of Nice.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ken Follett Books

12 Responses to “Order of Ken Follett Books”

  1. Joanna M Kinsley: 3 years ago

    Just finished The Evening and the Morning…prequel to the Kingsbridge series…loved Pillars, enjoyed World without End, couldn’t wait for Column of Fire to be over…read Evening because I’m obsessive…I LOVED it! Thinking about re-reading Pillars just for fun…intend to read the Century Trilogy this summer…


  2. kathy: 9 years ago

    I’ve read pillars of the Earth and World Without End. Are there more in this series?


    • RK: 9 years ago

      Sadly, no. I think they are his best work. The century trilogy is also excellent, ruined only by Mr. Follett’s biased and uncalled for comment in the closing paragraph(s) of Winter of the World. Read the book, what I’m talking about is glaringly obvious. Mr. Follett would do well not to use his books as a soapbox from which he shouts his political biases. If you like the Pillars and World stories, try the Jan Gaillou trilogy, The Road to Jerusalem, The Templar Knight, Birth of a Kingdom.


      • duggersd: 4 years ago

        You nailed it on the century trilogy. I find it interesting when comparing the themes expressed in Century and the Pillars series, the winning characters seem to have a more conservative philosophy in the Pillars while there is a very strong winning of progressive philosophies in the Century.


    • RK: 9 years ago

      I misstated one thing. Mr. Follett’s biased view comes at the end of Edge of Eternity, not Winter of the World. Sorry


  3. Dave: 9 years ago

    I have read many of the books, loved the jackdaws, but I have just finished dangerous fortune, fantastic I couldn’t put it down


  4. Henry Wynhurst: 11 years ago

    The Fall of Giants is the first book I’ve read by Ken and I absolutely loved it, I am now looking for more of Kens books. Thank you, Ken your the best.


  5. Ledined: 11 years ago

    It normally takes me years (holiday reader) to finish a book, Just read Pillars of the Earth in a few weeks – could hardly put it down, Desperately searching for more books. Thank you for a brilliant novel.


    • Lorena French: 5 years ago



  6. Nina: 12 years ago

    I have never read his books before and I started with the Fall of Giants book. Took me a while to finish it, but I loved it and am now reading the second book, Winter of the World – it’s very good so far.


    • Kbtowns: 12 years ago

      You will love all of his books. The are all so different but the stories are so rich and full of detail. They leave you satisfied not wishing for more.I absolutely love him


    • duggersd: 4 years ago

      This is not his best series. In fact the last one of the trilogy rather disappointed me. However Follett does a masterful job of tying all of the characters and loose ends up at the end. I believe his best series is the Pillars of the Earth.


Leave a Reply