Bernard Cornwell is an English author of historical fiction. He is best known for his Sharpe series featuring Richard Sharpe – a rifleman during the Napoleonic Wars, which has been adapted into a series of TV movies. Besides that, he has several other historical series, including The Starbuck Chronicles, The Warlord Chronicles, The Grail Quest, The Saxon Stories and more. He has also written a handful of modern mystery thrillers, including Wildtrack, Sea Lord (aka Killer’s Wake), Crackdown, Stormchild and Scoundrel.

Cornwell became a published author back in 1981 when he began his Sharpe series with Sharpe’s Eagle. Since that time, he has published at least one novel per year and quite frequently more than that. Below is a list of Bernard Cornwell’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order when necessary):

Get notified when Bernard Cornwell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sharpe Books

Sharpe's Gold (1981)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Eagle (1981)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Company (1982)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Sword (1983)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Enemy (1984)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Honor (1985)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Regiment (1986)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Siege (1987)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Rifles (1988)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Revenge (1989)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Waterloo (1990)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Devil (1992)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Christmas & Sharpe's Ransom (2 Short Stories) (1994)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Battle (1995)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Tiger (1997)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Triumph (1998)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Skirmish (1999)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Fortress (1999)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Trafalgar (2000)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Prey (2001)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Havoc (2003)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Escape (2004)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Fury (2006)Description / Buy at
Sharpe’s Assassin (2021)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Command (2024)Description / Buy at
Sharpe’s Storm (2024)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Sharpe Books

Sharpe's Tiger(1997)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Triumph(1998)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Fortress(1999)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Trafalgar(2000)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Prey(2001)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Rifles(1988)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Havoc(2003)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Eagle(1981)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Gold(1981)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Escape(2004)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Fury(2006)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Battle(1995)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Company(1982)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Sword(1983)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Skirmish(1999)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Enemy(1984)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Honor(1985)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Regiment(1986)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Christmas & Sharpe's Ransom (2 Short Stories)(1994)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Siege(1987)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Revenge(1989)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Waterloo(1990)Description / Buy at
Sharpe’s Assassin(2021)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Devil(1992)Description / Buy at
Sharpe's Command(2024)Description / Buy at
Sharpe’s Storm(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sharpe Non-Fiction Books

Sharpe's Story (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crowning Mercy Books

(with Susannah Kells)

A Crowning Mercy (With: Susannah Kells) (1983)Description / Buy at
The Fallen Angels (With: Susannah Kells) (1983)Description / Buy at
The Aristocrats (By: Susannah Kells) (1986)Description / Buy at
Coat of Arms / The Aristocrats (By: Susannah Kells) (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Grail Quest Books

Publication Order of Starbuck Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Sailing Thrillers Books

Publication Order of Warlord Chronicles / The Arthur Books

Publication Order of The Warrior Chronicles / Saxon Stories Books

The Last Kingdom (2004)Description / Buy at
The Pale Horseman (2005)Description / Buy at
Lords of the North (2006)Description / Buy at
Sword Song (2007)Description / Buy at
The Burning Land (2009)Description / Buy at
Death of Kings (2011)Description / Buy at
The Pagan Lord (2013)Description / Buy at
The Empty Throne (2014)Description / Buy at
Warriors of the Storm (2015)Description / Buy at
The Flame Bearer (2016)Description / Buy at
War of the Wolf (2018)Description / Buy at
Sword of Kings (2019)Description / Buy at
War Lord (2020)Description / Buy at
Uhtred’s Feast (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Crowning Mercy Books

Coat of Arms (By: Susannah Kells) (1986)Description / Buy at

Notes: Sea Lord was also published as Killer’s Wake in the United States. Azincourt was published as Agincourt in the United States. Harlequin was published as The Archer’s Tale in the USA. Coat of Arms is also known as The Aristocrats.

The Crowning Mercy books were published under the pen name of Susannah Kells.

If You Like Bernard Cornwell Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bernard Cornwell Books

2 Responses to “Order of Bernard Cornwell Books”

  1. Joseph Lima: 1 year ago

    Love your books


  2. Jack Ballinger: 7 years ago

    How do you pronounce the name “Ceinwyn” Derfel’s companion??


Leave a Reply