Patrick O’Brian is the nom de plume of English novelist Richard Patrick Russ (1914-2000). O’Brian is best known for his Jack Aubrey/Stephen Maturin series that spanned 21 novels and was adapted into the motion picture Master and Commander. Besides the Aubrey/Maturin books, he also wrote a few standalone novels and short story collections.

O’Brian began his literary career with Caesar in 1930 (when he was merely 16). The book led him to be labelled by critics as the boy-Thoreau, as a reference to American author Henry David Thoreau. Below is a list of Patrick O’Brian’s novels in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Aubrey/Maturin Books

Master and Commander (1969)Description / Buy at
Post Captain (1972)Description / Buy at
H.M.S. Surprise (1973)Description / Buy at
The Mauritius Command (1977)Description / Buy at
Desolation Island (1977)Description / Buy at
The Fortune of War (1978)Description / Buy at
The Surgeon's Mate (1980)Description / Buy at
The Ionian Mission (1981)Description / Buy at
Treason's Harbour (1983)Description / Buy at
The Far Side of the World (1984)Description / Buy at
The Reverse of the Medal (1986)Description / Buy at
The Letter of Marque (1988)Description / Buy at
The Thirteen-Gun Salute (1989)Description / Buy at
The Nutmeg of Consolation (1991)Description / Buy at
The Truelove / Clarissa Oakes (1992)Description / Buy at
The Wine-Dark Sea (1993)Description / Buy at
The Commodore (1994)Description / Buy at
The Yellow Admiral (1996)Description / Buy at
The Hundred Days (1998)Description / Buy at
Blue at the Mizzen (1999)Description / Buy at
21: The Final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

No Pirates Nowadays (2014)Description / Buy at
Noughts and Crosses (2014)Description / Buy at
Two’s Company (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Chian Wine (1974)Description / Buy at
The Rendezvous and Other Stories (1994)Description / Buy at
Collected Short Stories (1995)Description / Buy at
No Pirates Nowadays and Other Stories: Three Nautical Tales (2014)Description / Buy at
Beasts Royal: Twelve Tales of Adventure (2015)Description / Buy at
The Uncertain Land and Other Poems (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Rough Water: Stories of Survival from the Sea(1998)Description / Buy at
High Seas: Stories of Battle and Adventure from the Age of Sail(2002)Description / Buy at
Great Modern Stories(2009)Description / Buy at
Short Stories: The Thoroughly Modern Collection(2009)Description / Buy at

Notes: Clarissa Oakes was published as The Truelove in the USA. The Final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey was published as 21 in the United States. Testimonies was published as Three Bear Witness in the UK. The Catalans was published as The Frozen Flame in the United Kingdom.

If You Like Patrick O’Brian Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patrick O’Brian Books

2 Responses to “Order of Patrick O’Brian Books”

  1. tk77mann: 9 years ago

    Where is the list of his books in story order, not publication date order? Your website said it was available when I searched it. Thanks.


Leave a Reply