Bryan Gruley is an American journalist and author. As a writer of novels he is best known for writing the Starvation Lake Mystery series of books and the Bleak Harbor series of books.

In addition to his work as an author, Gruley also works as a reporter for Bloomberg News and Bloomberg Business Week magazine. He has also worked at the Wall Street Journal in his past. His coverage of the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Center earned him a Pulitzer Prize. He made his debut as a novelist in 2009 with the release of Starvation Lake, the first book in the Starvation Lake Mystery series.

Get notified when Bryan Gruley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Starvation Lake Mystery Books

Starvation Lake (2009)Description / Buy at
The Hanging Tree (2010)Description / Buy at
The Skeleton Box (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bleak Harbor Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

If You Like Bryan Gruley Books, You’ll Love…

Bleak Harbor is the first book in the series of the same name. The book takes place in the summertime in Bleak Harbor which means tourists and plenty of celebration. That doesn’t end up happening when Danny Peters, the youngest member of a wealthy family, goes missing. The family receives a picture of their son tied to a chair and they fear the worst. Now, someone is sending them ominous text messages that are laden with information that no one can possibly know. The secrets of their past are coming back to haunt them in the form of their son’s abduction and they’ll have to face them if they want to get him back.

Starvation Lake takes place in Michigan in the dead of winter when a coach crashes on his snowmobile and people are thinking it is a murder. Gus Carpenter is the editor of the local newspaper and he sets out to investigate the murder. What he’ll find is holes in his town’s past, holes that hide dark and disturbing secrets that could explain his old coach’s death.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bryan Gruley Books

Leave a Reply