C.S. Friedman is an American author known for writing The Coldfire trilogy and The Outworlds series of books.

Friedman loved reading from a young age and found her way to science fiction at the age of 12 when she purchased Isaac Asimov’s Earth is Room Enough collection. This purchase was transformative for her as it made her realize that science fiction was the ultimate form of literature. She published her first novel, In Conquest Born, in 1986 and has been writing ever since. C.S. now makes her home in Northern Virginia.

Get notified when C.S. Friedman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Alien Shores Books

This Alien Shore (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
This Virtual Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Coldfire Trilogy Books

Black Sun Rising (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When True Night Falls (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crown of Shadows (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nightborn (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Chronological Order of The Coldfire Trilogy Books

Nightborn(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Sun Rising(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When True Night Falls(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crown of Shadows(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Dreamwalker Books

Publication Order of In Conquest Born Books

Publication Order of The Magister Trilogy Books

Feast of Souls (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wings of Wrath (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Legacy of Kings (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Vampire: The Dark Ages Books

The Erciyes Fragments (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Madness Season (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

DAW 30th Anniversary Science Fiction(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
DAW 30th Anniversary Science Fiction and Fantasy Anthologies(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2012(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Temporally Deactivated(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like C.S. Friedman Books, You’ll Love…

This Alien Shore is the first book in The Outworlds series. The book begins as the second stage of human colonization of the stars is underway. The first age saw things end in disaster as Earth’s original superluminal drive did permanent genetic damage to the people who used it and mutated the colonists in both body and mind. Now, one of these colonies has given humanity another chance at the stars, but in exchange they have a monopoly over all human commerce. A satellite is attacked by corporate raiders and a young woman feels to a ship. She’ll be pursued by unknown adversaries and learn that there is a secret buried within her that the universe may not be ready for.

The Coldfire series begins with Black Sun Rising. Erna, a beautiful world settled by colonist over a millennium ago, is a harsh place. The colonists found themselves in a battle against the fae, a terrifying natural force with the power to prey upon the human mind itself that can draw on a person’s dreams. Twelve centuries later, the fae and the colonists have achieved a stalemate and now human sorcerers manipulate the fae for profit. What they don’t know is doing so only gives the fae strength. As the fae multiply, four people find themselves on a mission to confront an evil beyond their imagining.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of C.S. Friedman Books

Leave a Reply