Cassandra King is an award winning author. She made her debut with Making Waves in 1995 and followed that up with The Sunday Wife, a New York Times bestseller. She is a Southern writer who writes uplifting books with strong characters facing timely issues. Her books are often based in the American South.

King is a native of lower Alabama, but now makes her home in South Carolina with her husband, Pat Conroy, a fellow novelist. In addition to her work as an author, King has also taught writing on the college level, conducted corporate writing seminars, and worked as a human-interest reporter for a Pelham, Alabama newspaper.

Get notified when Cassandra King releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sunday Wife (2002)Description / Buy at
Making Waves (2004)Description / Buy at
The Same Sweet Girls (2005)Description / Buy at
Queen of Broken Hearts (2007)Description / Buy at
Moonrise (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Same Sweet Girls' Guide to Life (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II(2003)Description / Buy at
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at
When You Pass Through Waters: Words of Hope and Healing from Your Favorite Authors(2015)Description / Buy at
Reunion Beach: Stories Inspired by Dorothea Benton Frank(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cassandra King Books, You’ll Love…

The Sunday Wife follows a woman named Dean Lynch who has been married for twenty years to Reverend Benjamin Lynch, minister of the Methodist church, but she has never really adjusted to the demands of the role of a Sunday wife. Her husband is assigned to a larger community in the Florida panhandle where she meets Augusta, a woman who entrances her. The two become friends and Augusta challenges her to break free from tradition in her role as the preacher’s wife. Dean begins to question everything she has always valued, but when a tragedy occurs she will find change in ways that she hasn’t imagined.

The Same Sweet Girls is about a tight-knit group of lifelong friends. The girls aren’t girls anymore though and they aren’t all that sweet either, they are spirited Southern women. They get together for biannual reunions to reminisce on their college days. Julia is the First Lady of Alabama who wants to know if her husband is sneaking out. Lanier Sanders lost custody of her children after her husband caught her having an affair. Astor Deveaux is a former Broadway showgirl and certified flirt. Finally, there is Corinne Cooper whose incredible story is the basis for this book.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cassandra King Books

Leave a Reply