Dorothea Benton Frank is an American author of Southern fiction. She is best known for her Lowcountry Tales series, set in the Lowcountry of South Carolina. Dot worked in the apparel industry from 1972 until 1985 and then organized fundraisers as a volunteer, before becoming a novelist. She enjoys cooking, fly fishing and travelling. She splits her time between the Lowcountry of South Carolina and New Jersey.

Dorothea Benton Frank became a published author in 2000 with Sullivan’s Island, which debuted on the New York Times Bestseller List at #9. The novel has more than one million copies in print and was translated into ten other languages. Below is a list of Dorothea Benton Frank’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Lowcountry Tales Books

Sullivan's Island (1999)Description / Buy at
Plantation (2001)Description / Buy at
Isle of Palms (2001)Description / Buy at
Shem Creek (2002)Description / Buy at
Pawleys Island (2005)Description / Buy at
Bulls Island (2008)Description / Buy at
Return to Sullivan's Island (2009)Description / Buy at
Lowcountry Summer (2010)Description / Buy at
Folly Beach (2011)Description / Buy at
The Hurricane Sisters (2014)Description / Buy at
All the Single Ladies /Carolina Girls (2015)Description / Buy at
Same Beach, Next Year (2017)Description / Buy at
Queen Bee (2019)Description / Buy at
Reunion Beach (2021)Description / Buy at
Chronologically, Bulls Island takes place after Folly Beach.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Full of Grace (2006)Description / Buy at
The Land of Mango Sunsets (2007)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Pearl (2007)Description / Buy at
Porch Lights (2012)Description / Buy at
The Last Original Wife (2013)Description / Buy at
All Summer Long (2016)Description / Buy at
By Invitation Only (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

Teddy Spaghetti (2020)Description / Buy at

Note: All the Single Ladies is also known as Carolina Girls.

If You Like Dorothea Benton Frank Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothea Benton Frank Synopsis: The Christmas Pearl is a standalone title by Dorothea Benton Frank. Still going strong at 93 years old, Theodora has lived long enough to see her family grow into an insufferable bunch of truculent knuckleheads. Having finally gathered the whole bickering brood together for the holidays at her South Carolina home, the grand matriarch pines wistfully for those extravagant, homey Christmases of her childhood. She reminisces about the tables groaning with home-cooked goodies, the over-the-top decorations, those long and lovely fireside chats with Pearl, her grandmother’s beloved housekeeper and closest confidante. She misses the love, the joy and the peace. But this is, after all, a magical time. Someone very special has heard Theodora’s plea – and is about to arrive at her door with pockets full of Gullah magic and enough common sense to turn this holiday season into the special time it’s truly meant to be.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothea Benton Frank Books

6 Responses to “Order of Dorothea Benton Frank Books”

  1. marilyn noles: 8 months ago

    I am in the process of trying to read all of her books. I Love all I have read of her. I used to be a die hard Danielle Steel reader, after reading all of hers at the time , I tried one of Dorothea’s books. Can’t remember the name. I was hooked ,now I am getting close to having read most of them. Lighthearted and I can relate to her stories as I am from the south.


  2. Donna Daniels Wageman: 2 years ago

    I haven’t read all of D.B.Franks books yet, but the ones I have read are the best, funniest, hilarious books. I love her writing. Gone through divorce, she lifted my spirits sky high. So sorry she is no longer with us. So Thankful that she shared her gift with us.


  3. Kathy Brantley: 6 years ago

    Read all of her books except By Invitation Only and once you start reading you cannot put them down until finished. Rereading all of them and just as good second time as the first time.


  4. Becca Kline Hauge: 8 years ago

    I started out as a huge fan of Pamela Duncan and was sad when I read all she had published. Awaiting her latest book, I attended my Univeristy Library’s book sale and passed by Sullivan’s Island by Frank a couple times before finally saying “ok I’ll give it a try”! 2 days later I finished it, ordered “Return to Sullivan’s Island” on Amazon and had it read within a week of having received it! I am now a huge fan!!!! If you have not read Pamela Duncan and love DBF, I strongly suggest you check her out!!!!


  5. Jane: 9 years ago

    I fell in love with Dorothea’s books, while from England visiting family in Charleston,in 2000,first reading Sullivan’s Island, a mesmerising place. Since then I have read everyone, and look forward to the next one.


  6. Candice: 9 years ago

    I’ve loved every one of Dorothea’s books! I’ve read them all except for the Hurricane Sisters. I want my collection to be the same sized books so I have to wait til the larger paperback comes out to get this one. For some reason I can’t find Sullivan’s Island in that size….I’ll keep looking.


Leave a Reply