Catherine Asaro
Catherine Asaro is an American author of science fiction and fantasy novels. She is best known for her Saga of the Skolian Empire series and also wrote the Lost Continent romantic fantasy series. Catherine earned her Ph.D in chemical physics and her M.A. in physics from Harvard University, as well as her B.S. in chemistry (with highest honours) from UCLA. Aside from writing, she also teaches math, physics and chemistry. Catherine is the daughter of Frank Asaro, who ended up being part of the team who brought up the theory of the asteroid that caused the extinction of the dinosaurs. She is married to NASA astrophysicist John Kendall Cannizzo. They have an adult daughter.

Catherine Asaro became a published novelist in 1995 with the novel Primary Inversion. She is a two-time winner of the Nebula Award – once for best novel, once for best novella. Below is a list of Catherine Asaro’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order when necessary):

Get notified when Catherine Asaro releases a new book at

Publication Order of Skolian Empire Books

Primary Inversion (1995)Description / Buy at
Catch the Lightning (1996)Description / Buy at
The Last Hawk (1997)Description / Buy at
The Radiant Seas (1998)Description / Buy at
Ascendant Sun (2000)Description / Buy at
The Quantum Rose (2000)Description / Buy at
Spherical Harmonic (2001)Description / Buy at
Sextopia (With: Cecilia Tan) (2001)Description / Buy at
The Moon's Shadow (2003)Description / Buy at
Skyfall (2003)Description / Buy at
Schism (2004)Description / Buy at
The Final Key (2005)Description / Buy at
The Ruby Dice (2008)Description / Buy at
Diamond Star (2009)Description / Buy at
Carnelians (2011)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Skolian Empire Books

Publication Order of Skolian Empire: Ruby Dynasty Books

Lightning Strike (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dust Knights Books

Publication Order of Major Bhaajan Books

The City of Cries (2011)Description / Buy at
Undercity (2014)Description / Buy at
The Bronze Skies (2017)Description / Buy at
The Vanished Seas (2020)Description / Buy at
The Jigsaw Assassin (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Skolian Empire Anthologies

Aurora in Four Voices (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lightning Strike Books

Publication Order of Lost Continent Books

(with Mercedes Lackey, Rachel Lee)

Charmed Destinies (With: Mercedes Lackey,Rachel Lee) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Charmed Sphere (2004)Description / Buy at
The Misted Cliffs (2005)Description / Buy at
The Dawn Star (2006)Description / Buy at
The Fire Opal (2007)Description / Buy at
The Night Bird (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sunrise Alley/Charon Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Veiled Web (1999)Description / Buy at
The Phoenix Code (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Roll of the Dice (2000)Description / Buy at
Walk in Silence (2003)Description / Buy at
The Spacetime Pool (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Analog, December 1998(1998)Description / Buy at
Civil War Fantastic(2000)Description / Buy at
Analog Science Fiction and Fact Magazine, July/August 2000(2000)Description / Buy at
Charmed Destinies(2003)Description / Buy at
Irresistible Forces(2004)Description / Buy at
Space Cadets(2006)Description / Buy at
The Space Opera Renaissance(2006)Description / Buy at
Best New Paranormal Romance(2006)Description / Buy at
Nebula Awards Showcase 2007(2007)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of SF Wars(2012)Description / Buy at
Nebula Awards 47 (2013)(2013)Description / Buy at
Visions of the Future(2015)Description / Buy at
Infinite Stars(2017)Description / Buy at

Notes: The short story The City of Cries is included in the anthology Aurora in Four Voices. Lightning Strike is an expanded version of the first half of Catch the Lightning. Charmed Destinies also contains stories by Mercedes Lackey and Rachel Lee.

If You Like Catherine Asaro Books, You’ll Love…

Catherine Asaro Synopsis: The collection Charmed Destinies includes the short story Moonglow by Catherine Asaro. Iris Larkspur is expected to marry a prince, as she possesses the magic he wants – even if a spell keeps him deaf, mute and blind. In order to heal him, she must conjure up more power than she has ever known – a power that only two bonded hearts can create!

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Catherine Asaro Books

Leave a Reply