Catherine Ryan Hyde is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books for adults, young adults and children. Besides being a writer, Catherine is a professional public speaker, having being invited to speak at the National Conference on Education, at Cornell University, and alongside Bill Clinton for three speeches. She loves hiking (especially at altitude), and has been on treks in various parts of the world. Catherine has a dog, a cat and a horse.

Catherine Ryan Hyde made her debut as a published author in 1997 with the novel Funerals for Horses. Below is a list of Catherine Ryan Hyde’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Catherine Ryan Hyde releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Funerals for Horses (1997)Description / Buy at
Pay It Forward (1999)Description / Buy at
Electric God / The Hardest Part of Love (2000)Description / Buy at
Walter's Purple Heart (2002)Description / Buy at
Becoming Chloe (2006)Description / Buy at
Love in the Present Tense (2006)Description / Buy at
The Year of My Miraculous Reappearance (2007)Description / Buy at
Chasing Windmills (2008)Description / Buy at
The Day I Killed James (2008)Description / Buy at
Diary of a Witness (2009)Description / Buy at
When I Found You (2009)Description / Buy at
Second Hand Heart (2010)Description / Buy at
Jumpstart the World (2010)Description / Buy at
Dont Let Me Go (2011)Description / Buy at
When You Were Older (2012)Description / Buy at
Walk Me Home (2013)Description / Buy at
Where We Belong (2013)Description / Buy at
Take Me with You (2014)Description / Buy at
The Language of Hoofbeats (2014)Description / Buy at
Worthy (2015)Description / Buy at
Ask Him Why (2015)Description / Buy at
Leaving Blythe River (2016)Description / Buy at
Say Goodbye for Now (2016)Description / Buy at
Allie and Bea (2017)Description / Buy at
The Wake Up (2017)Description / Buy at
Heaven Adjacent (2018)Description / Buy at
Just After Midnight (2018)Description / Buy at
Have You Seen Luis Velez? (2019)Description / Buy at
Stay (2019)Description / Buy at
Brave Girl, Quiet Girl (2020)Description / Buy at
My Name is Anton (2020)Description / Buy at
Seven Perfect Things (2021)Description / Buy at
Boy Underground (2021)Description / Buy at
Dreaming of Flight (2022)Description / Buy at
So Long, Chester Wheeler (2022)Description / Buy at
Just a Regular Boy (2023)Description / Buy at
A Different Kind of Gone (2023)Description / Buy at
Life, Loss, and Puffins (2024)Description / Buy at
Rolling Toward Clear Skies (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Earthquake Weather (1998)Description / Buy at
Always Chloe (2013)Description / Buy at
Subway Dancer (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How to be a Writer in the E-Age (2012)Description / Buy at
The Long Steep Path (2013)Description / Buy at
365 Days of Gratitude (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Paw It Forward (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dog is My Co-Pilot(2003)Description / Buy at
Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?(2017)Description / Buy at

Notes: Electric God was also published as The Hardest Part of Love. How to Be a Writer in the E-Age… was written with Anne R. Allen.

If You Like Catherine Ryan Hyde Books, You’ll Love…

Catherine Ryan Hyde Synopses: Funerals for Horses by Catherine Ryan Hyde is a gritty, compelling tale of a woman’s search for her lost childhood. In a descent into madness, Ella Ginsberg slips into and out of insanity, and manages to cling by a slender thread to the flattened earth of her existence.

In Electric God by Catherine Ryan Hyde, Hayden Reese once believed he could have it all – and at one point, he came close: a wife and a daughter he adored, and a child on the way. But little by little, a chain of heartaches stripped him of all he loved – and a flash of violence changed his destiny. Now at middle age, newly spring from jail in a remote California town, Hayden is utterly alone – his girlfriend has left and he just buried his beloved dog. It seems God may never be done with Hayden Reese. And that’s the “good” news.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Books

One Response to “Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Books”

  1. Katherine Flaherty: 8 months ago

    Is Take Me With You appropriate reading for my
    grandchildren ages 13 and 11? I read it several years ago and although I
    loved It, it has been awhile so I am unsure if it would be too much for


Leave a Reply