Charles G. West is an author of historical westerns. He made his debut in the world of westerns in 1998 with the release of his first novel, Stone Hand. He has been a prolific writer ever since and he is a former Spur Award winner.

While West is known most for his westerns, his debut novel was actually a medical thriller known as The Tenant. West had a love of the west and the Big Sky Country from when he was a child. He enjoyed reading the works of authors like A.B. Guthrie and Vardis Fisher. Inspired by these works, he set out to write about the hardships and dangers faced by the people of the western frontier.

Get notified when Charles G. West releases a new book at

Publication Order of Culver Books

Publication Order of Hunters Books

To Hell and Gone (2023)Description / Buy at
The First Day of Eternity (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jason Coles Books

Publication Order of John Hawk Books

Hell Hath No Fury (2017)Description / Buy at
No Justice in Hell (2018)Description / Buy at
Montana Territory (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jordan Gray Books

Publication Order of Little Wolf Books

Publication Order of Matt Slaughter Books

Publication Order of Trace McCall Books

Wings of the Hawk (2000)Description / Buy at
Mountain Hawk (2001)Description / Buy at
Son of the Hawk (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Funnelweb (1989)Description / Buy at
Stonefish (1990)Description / Buy at
Rat's Nest (1991)Description / Buy at
The Tenant (1996)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Disc (2000)Description / Buy at
Duel at Low Hawk (2007)Description / Buy at
Range War in Whiskey Hill (2008)Description / Buy at
Tanner's Law (2008)Description / Buy at
Luke's Gold (2008)Description / Buy at
Lawless Prairie (2009)Description / Buy at
Shoot-out at Broken Bow (2009)Description / Buy at
The Blackfoot Trail (2009)Description / Buy at
Reno's Island (2010)Description / Buy at
The Marble Hill Hotel (2010)Description / Buy at
Storm in Paradise Valley (2010)Description / Buy at
War Cry (2010)Description / Buy at
Ride the High Range (2010)Description / Buy at
Thunder Over Lolo Pass (2011)Description / Buy at
Left Hand of the Law (2011)Description / Buy at
Outlaw Pass (2011)Description / Buy at
Death Is The Hunter (2012)Description / Buy at
A Man Called Sunday (2012)Description / Buy at
Day of the Wolf (2012)Description / Buy at
Black Horse Creek (2012)Description / Buy at
Way of The Gun (2013)Description / Buy at
Long Road To Cheyenne (2013)Description / Buy at
Mark of the Hunter (2013)Description / Buy at
Wrath of the Savage (2014)Description / Buy at
Silver City Massacre (2014)Description / Buy at
Crow Creek Crossing (2014)Description / Buy at
Trial at Fort Keogh (2014)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Posse (2015)Description / Buy at
Slater's Way (2015)Description / Buy at
Massacre at Crow Creek Crossing (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Charles G. West Books, You’ll Love…

Hell Hath No Fury is the first book in the John Hawk western series. The book begins with Jamie Pratt and his young bride on their way to the Rocky Mountains. They get to Helena when their wagon master deserts them and leaves them for dead. The other settlers decide to try and set stakes where they are, but Jamie and his wife decide to head towards Bitterfoot Valley, deep in the heart of Sioux territory. When they never come out the other side, Jamie’s brother enlists John Hawk to try and find them. It’s a suicide mission for any normal man, but Hawk is no normal man.

Another West western is A Man Called Sunday. Luke Sunday takes a job as a scout for the army as they are at war with the Sioux. However, he soon finds himself on the wrong side of the army when he accuses them of wrongdoing after the attack of a peaceful Cheyenne village. He is ousted, lead by an outlaw named Bill Bogart, and then takes on the duty of guiding the Freeman family to the Gallatin Valley where they will run across the Cheyenne and Bogart once again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charles G. West Books

Leave a Reply