Charlie N. Holmberg is an American author best known for writing fantasy books. She made her debut as a novelist in 2014 with the release of The Paper Magician. That book has since been optioned for a movie. She is also the author of the Numina trilogy and the Star Mother series.

Holmberg was born in Salt Lake City, Utah and went on to attend Brigham Young University. She considered herself a nerd from a young age and wrote fan fiction as a teenager. As an author, she has been a finalist for multiple awards. She also won the 2020 Whitney for Novel of the Year for Adult Fiction.

Get notified when Charlie N. Holmberg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Numina Trilogy Books

Smoke & Summons (2019)Description / Buy at
Myths and Mortals (2019)Description / Buy at
Siege and Sacrifice (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Paper Magician Books

The Paper Magician (2014)Description / Buy at
The Glass Magician (2014)Description / Buy at
The Master Magician (2015)Description / Buy at
The Plastic Magician (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Spellbreaker Duology Books

Publication Order of Star Mother Books

Publication Order of Whimbrel House Books

Keeper of Enchanted Rooms (2022)Description / Buy at
Heir of Uncertain Magic (2023)Description / Buy at
Boy of Chaotic Making (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Followed by Frost (2015)Description / Buy at
Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet (2016)Description / Buy at
The Fifth Doll (2017)Description / Buy at
Veins of Gold (2018)Description / Buy at
Midsummer Night (2019)Description / Buy at
The Will and the Wilds (2020)Description / Buy at
The Hanging City (2023)Description / Buy at
Still the Sun (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Deep Magic - October 2016(2016)Description / Buy at
Deep Magic - December 2016(2016)Description / Buy at
Deep Magic - Winter 2020(2021)Description / Buy at
Horses, Hounds & Happily Ever After(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Charlie N. Holmberg Books, You’ll Love…

Star Mother is the first book in the series of the same. The story follows a small village where one woman has just offered herself to birth a star. When a star goes out, it must be replaced and the Sun God has chosen her village to be the mortal womb. Ceris offers herself to secure her family’s honor, even though she knows that the star mother always dies. However, she is not like the others and manages to live. When she returns to village she’ll find that it is not months later, but seven hundred years. She is determined to seek out her descendants and will work with a trickster to get herself where she belongs.

The Paper Magician is the first book in a series of the same name. Ceony Twill was top of her class at the Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, but is disappointed to be assigned to the world of paper magic as she had hopes for metal spells. Once you are bonded to paper, you are bound to it forever. She soon finds herself falling for this wonderful magic though and forms a bond with her teacher, Emery Thane. When her teacher is attacked, she’ll do whatever it takes to save his life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charlie N. Holmberg Books

Leave a Reply