Christian Jacq is a French author of historical fiction and non-fiction books. He writes the Ramses series, among several other series. He is known as an Egyptologist. Jacq became interested in Egyptian history when he was 13 years old, having read History of Ancient Egyptian Civilization by Jacques Pirenne. It was from this book that he gained inspiration to write his first novel. It would not be long until he visited Egypt for the first time at age 17. Jacq went to study Egyptology and archeology at Sorbonne, and had already written eight books by the time he was 18.

Christian Jacq made his debut as a published novelist in 1984 with The Judgement of the Mummy. Below is a list of Christian Jacq’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Christian Jacq releases a new book at

Publication Order of Judge Of Egypt Books

Beneath the Pyramid (1993)Description / Buy at
Secrets of the Desert (1993)Description / Buy at
Shadow of the Sphinx (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mozart Books

The Great Magician (2006)Description / Buy at
The Son of Enlightenment (2006)Description / Buy at
The Brother of Fire (2011)Description / Buy at
The Beloved of Isis (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mysteries Of Osiris Books

The Tree of Life (2003)Description / Buy at
The Conspiracy of Evil (2003)Description / Buy at
The Way of Fire (2004)Description / Buy at
The Great Secret (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Queen Of Freedom Books

The Empire of Darkness (2001)Description / Buy at
The War of the Crowns (2002)Description / Buy at
The Flaming Sword (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ramsès Books

The Son of Light (1995)Description / Buy at
The Eternal Temple / The Temple of a Million Years (1995)Description / Buy at
The Battle of Kadesh (1996)Description / Buy at
The Lady of Abu Simbel (1996)Description / Buy at
Under the Western Acacia (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stone Of Light Books

Nefer the Silent (2000)Description / Buy at
The Wise Woman (2000)Description / Buy at
Paneb the Ardent (2000)Description / Buy at
The Place of Truth (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vengeance Of The Gods Books

Manhunt (2006)Description / Buy at
The Divine Worshipper (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Judgement of the Mummy (1984)Description / Buy at
The Black Pharaoh (1985)Description / Buy at
Champollion the Egyptian (1987)Description / Buy at
Master Hiram and King Solomon (1989)Description / Buy at
The Tutankhamun Affair (1992)Description / Buy at
Tutankhamun: The Last Secret (1995)Description / Buy at
For the Love of Philae (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Magic and Mystery in Ancient Egypt / Egyptian Magic (1983)Description / Buy at
The Wisdom of Ptah-Hotep (1993)Description / Buy at
Fascinating Hieroglyphics (1994)Description / Buy at
The Living Wisdom of Ancient Egypt (1998)Description / Buy at
Egypt (2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Christian Jacq Books, You’ll Love…

Christian Jacq Synopsis: The Empire of Darkness by Christian Jacq is the first book in the Queen of Freedom series. Egypt is not what it used to be. An army of barbarians mounted on horse-drawn chariots has swept through the Empire, destroying everything in its path. Known as the Hyksos, these “leaders from foreign lands” have reduced the country of the pharaohs to slavery. Only the city of Thebes resists, protected by the widow of the last pharaoh, Teti the Small. But Teti knows that her reign will be short-lived, that it’s only a matter of time before her men succumb to the barbarities of the cruel Hyksos. She has an eighteen-year-old daughter, however: Ahhotep. Fierce, beautiful, and courageous, this girl whom history will call “Egypt’s Joan of Arc” will never accept defeat. And so she decides to re-ignite the flame of Egyptian resistance. All by herself.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Christian Jacq Books

2 Responses to “Order of Christian Jacq Books”

  1. Gail Galleher: 3 years ago

    Is there a list of Christian Jacq’s books that orders them by time frame? I’m learning more about ancient Egypt and would like to read the books in order from the earliest pharoahs to the last ones.

    Thank you!


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Unfortunately not that I am aware of. I had a look online to see if any other websites had covered that and checked one of her recent books but there was no mention of that. I’ll see if we can figure it out and update the listing.


Leave a Reply