Martin Walker
Martin Walker is a British author of mystery novels and non-fiction books. He writes the Bruno, Chief of Police series. Martin has worked as Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of United Press International, various posts at The Guardian, a commentator for CNN and a columnist for newspapers in the U.S. and Europe. He is married to fellow novelist Julia Watson and has two daughters.

Martin Walker became a published author with the non-fiction book The Waking Giant: Soviet Union Under Gorbachev, which was published in 1986. His first novel was the 2002 standalone novel The Caves of Perigord. Six years later, he would start his first series of novels with the novel Bruno, Chief of Police. Below is a list of Martin Walker’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Martin Walker releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Books

Bruno, Chief of Police / Death in the Dordogne (2008)Description / Buy at
The Dark Vineyard (2009)Description / Buy at
Black Diamond (2010)Description / Buy at
The Crowded Grave (2011)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Cave (2012)Description / Buy at
Bruno and the Carol Singers / Bruno and le Pere Noel (2012)Description / Buy at
The Resistance Man (2013)Description / Buy at
The Children Return / Children of War / Death Undercover (2014)Description / Buy at
A Market Tale (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dying Season / The Patriarch (2015)Description / Buy at
Fatal Pursuit (2016)Description / Buy at
The Templars' Last Secret (2017)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Vengeance (2018)Description / Buy at
The Chocolate War (2018)Description / Buy at
The Body in the Castle Well (2019)Description / Buy at
A Birthday Lunch (2019)Description / Buy at
Oystercatcher (2020)Description / Buy at
The Shooting at Chateau Rock (2020)Description / Buy at
The Coldest Case (2021)Description / Buy at
Bruno's Challenge and Other Stories of the French Countryside (2022)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Troubadour (2022)Description / Buy at
A Chateau Under Siege (2023)Description / Buy at
A Grave in the Woods (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Infiltrator (1978)Description / Buy at
The Money Soldiers (1980)Description / Buy at
A Mercenary Calling (1980)Description / Buy at
The Caves of Perigord (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The National Front (1977)Description / Buy at
Daily Sketches (1978)Description / Buy at
Powers of the Press (1983)Description / Buy at
The Waking Giant: Soviet Union Under Gorbachev (1986)Description / Buy at
Martin Walker's Russia (1989)Description / Buy at
The Harper Independent Traveller (1990)Description / Buy at
The Cold War and the Making of the Modern World (1993)Description / Buy at
Clinton: The President They Deserve (1996)Description / Buy at
America Reborn: A Twentieth-Century Narrative in Twenty-Six Lives (2000)Description / Buy at
Makers of the American Century (2001)Description / Buy at
The Iraq War (2003)Description / Buy at
Bruno's Cookbook (With: Julia Watson) (2023)Description / Buy at

Note: Bruno and the Carol Singers was published as Bruno and le Pere Noel in the UK. The Dying Season is also known as The Patriarch.

If You Like Martin Walker Books, You’ll Love…

Martin Walker Synopsis: Clinton: The President They Deserve is a biography of the 42nd President of the United States of America, William Jefferson Clinton (otherwise known as Bill Clinton). The book details how Clinton was able to successfully navigate the political minefield, despite sex, financial and drug scandals in order to be elected as the President of the United States of America.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Martin Walker Books

Leave a Reply