Laurie R. King is an American novelist of detective fiction. Her two series include a mystery series featuring Mary Russell, an apprentice/partner of Sherlock Holmes and a contemporary series featuring San Francisco cop Kate Martinelli. She also has written several standalone novels.

Laurie R. King made her literary debut in 1993 with the Kate Martinelli novel A Grave Talent. Below is a list of all of Laurie R. King’s books in order of when they were originally published (with the chronological order also noted):

Publication Order of Kate Martinelli Books

A Grave Talent (1993)Amazon UK |
To Play the Fool (1995)Amazon UK |
With Child (1996)Amazon UK |
Night Work (2000)Amazon UK |
The Art of Detection (2006)Amazon UK |
Beginnings (2019)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Books

The Beekeeper's Apprentice (1994)Amazon UK |
A Monstrous Regiment of Women (1995)Amazon UK |
A Letter of Mary (1996)Amazon UK |
The Moor (1998)Amazon UK |
O Jerusalem (1999)Amazon UK |
Justice Hall (2002)Amazon UK |
The Game (2004)Amazon UK |
Locked Rooms (2005)Amazon UK |
The Language of Bees (2009)Amazon UK |
The God of the Hive (2010)Amazon UK |
Beekeeping for Beginners (2011)Amazon UK |
Pirate King (2011)Amazon UK |
Garment of Shadows (2012)Amazon UK |
Dreaming Spies (2015)Amazon UK |
The Marriage of Mary Russell (2016)Amazon UK |
The Murder of Mary Russell (2016)Amazon UK |
Mary Russell's War (2016)Amazon UK |
Island of the Mad (2018)Amazon UK |
Riviera Gold (2020)Amazon UK |
Castle Shade (2021)Amazon UK |

Chronological Order of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Books

The events of O Jerusalem take place towards the end of The Beekeeper's Apprentice.

Publication Order of Harris Stuyvesant Books

Touchstone (2007)Amazon UK |
The Bones of Paris (2013)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Folly Island Books

Folly (2001)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Darker Place (1998)Amazon UK |
Keeping Watch (2003)Amazon UK |
Califia's Daughters (2004)Amazon UK |
My Thesis Being... (2013)Amazon UK |
Lockdown (2017)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Hellbender (2011)Amazon UK |
Mila's Tale (2014)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Arvon Book of Crime and Thriller Writing (2012)Amazon UK |
Laurie R. King's Sherlock Holmes (2013)Amazon UK |

Publication Order of Anthologies

Wild Crimes(2004)Amazon UK |
Unusual Suspects(2008)Amazon UK |
A Study in Sherlock(2011)Amazon UK |
Writes of Passage: Adventures on the Writer's Journey(2014)Amazon UK |
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes(2016)Amazon UK |
For the Sake of the Game(2018)Amazon UK |
In League with Sherlock Holmes(2020)Amazon UK |

Note: Califia’s Daughters was published under the nom de plume of Leigh Richards. A Study in Sherlock and In the Company of Sherlock Holmes were co-edited by Leslie S. Klinger.

If You Like Laurie R. King Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Laurie R. King Books

Leave a Reply