Sara Paretsky is an American novelist of detective fiction, largely featuring female private investigator V.I. Warshawski. Paretsky’s contributions to crime fiction include writing a female character who breaks all of the rules of what a female detective is “supposed” to be and transcending the typical labels.

Sara Paretsky had her first novel published in 1982, which was Indemnity Only. The frequency of her novels are typically about one every two years – sometimes more, sometimes less. Below is a list of all of Sara Paretsky’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Sara Paretsky releases a new book at

Publication Order of V.I. Warshawski Books

Publication Order of V.I. Warshawski Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of V.I. Warshawski Collections

Windy City Blues (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ghost Country (1988)Description / Buy at
Bleeding Kansas (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Taste of Life and Other Stories (1995)Description / Buy at
Love & Other Crimes: Stories (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing In An Age Of Silence (2007)Description / Buy at
Words, Works, and Ways of Knowing (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Deadly Allies Books

Deadly Allies (With: Sue Grafton,Jan Grape,Susan Dunlap,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Sarah Andrews,Bob Randisi) (1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II (By: Susan Dunlap,Loren D. Estleman,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Eyes Have It(1984)Description / Buy at
Mean Streets(1986)Description / Buy at
Beastly Tales(1989)Description / Buy at
City Sleuths and Tough Guys(1989)Description / Buy at
Sisters in Crime 3(1990)Description / Buy at
A Woman's Eye(1991)Description / Buy at
1st Culprit(1992)Description / Buy at
Women of Mystery(1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies(1992)Description / Buy at
Sisters In Crime 5(1992)Description / Buy at
The Year’s 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1991(1992)Description / Buy at
Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1992(1993)Description / Buy at
Great Mystery Series: Top Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
The New Mystery(1993)Description / Buy at
3rd Culprit(1994)Description / Buy at
Seventh Annual Collection(1994)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1993(1994)Description / Buy at
Bad Behavior(1995)Description / Buy at
Women on the Case(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder For Love(1996)Description / Buy at
First Cases, Volume 1(1996)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1995(1996)Description / Buy at
Win, Lose or Die(1996)Description / Buy at
Mystery's Most Wanted(1997)Description / Buy at
Women of Mystery III(1998)Description / Buy at
Crime After Crime(1999)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Detective Stories(2000)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories of the Century(2000)Description / Buy at
Crime Story Collection(2000)Description / Buy at
Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
A Century of Great Suspense Stories(2001)Description / Buy at
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction(2004)Description / Buy at
Sisters on the Case(2007)Description / Buy at
Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe(2011)Description / Buy at
Suspense Magazine December 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
Mystery Writers of America Presents Ice Cold(2014)Description / Buy at
Chicago Blues(2014)Description / Buy at
Gary Phillips' Hollis for Hire(2018)Description / Buy at
Bullets and Other Hurting Things: A Tribute to Bill Crider(2021)Description / Buy at
Crime Hits Home(2022)Description / Buy at
The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2022(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Blood Shot was published in the United Kingdom as Toxic Shock. Windy City Blues was also published as V.I. for Short.

If You Like Sara Paretsky Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sara Paretsky Books

6 Responses to “Order of Sara Paretsky Books”

  1. CELIA HOPE RUTHER: 6 years ago

    do the books need to be read in order?


    • Graeme: 6 years ago

      Not really but I’d recommend reading in publication order. There’s a change late on in the series that affects the chronology of the books and also changes a lot of things that occurs in the books that could make things very confusing.


      • M L: 2 years ago

        There is some sort of gap between the Killing Orders(3) and Bitter Medicine(4). A new character Mr. Contreras and she is living in a new location. I tried finding copy of Skin Deep which sounds like a bridge novel indicated by a 3.5. Even though it was published in 1994. Any info available?



        • Graeme: 2 years ago

          I’ve looked into it but can’t confirm whether Skin Deep would fall in between the two or not. Sara doesn’t even list Skin Deep on her website. I also looked up reviews of Bitter Medicine and am not seeing anyone with a similar complaint that they felt there was something missing, or something to read between the two.


  2. pat: 10 years ago

    where does the windy city blues come in the v.i. warshawski series


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      It was published between Burn Marks & Guardian Angel. I’ll have it added under the “Collections” section soon.


Leave a Reply