Sue Grafton (1940-2017) was the American author behind the series of detective books starring Kinsey Millhone. This series of books is known as the “alphabet series” of books due to the title of the books all organized in alphabetical order.

Below is a list of the Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone series of books, which began in 1982:

Publication Order of Kinsey Millhone Books

A is for Alibi (1982)Description / Buy at
B is for Burglar (1985)Description / Buy at
C is for Corpse (1986)Description / Buy at
D is for Deadbeat (1987)Description / Buy at
E is for Evidence (1988)Description / Buy at
F is for Fugitive (1989)Description / Buy at
G is for Gumshoe (1990)Description / Buy at
H is for Homicide (1991)Description / Buy at
I is for Innocent (1992)Description / Buy at
J is for Judgment (1993)Description / Buy at
K is for Killer (1994)Description / Buy at
L is for Lawless (1994)Description / Buy at
M is for Malice (1996)Description / Buy at
N is for Noose (1998)Description / Buy at
O is for Outlaw (1999)Description / Buy at
P is for Peril (2000)Description / Buy at
Q is for Quarry (2002)Description / Buy at
R is for Ricochet (2004)Description / Buy at
S is for Silence (2005)Description / Buy at
T is for Trespass (2007)Description / Buy at
U is for Undertow (2009)Description / Buy at
V is for Vengeance (2011)Description / Buy at
W is for Wasted (2013)Description / Buy at
X (2015)Description / Buy at
Y is for Yesterday (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kinsey Millhone Collections

Kinsey and Me: Stories (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Keziah Dane (1967)Description / Buy at
Lolly-madonna War (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Parker Shotgun (1986)Description / Buy at
Between the Sheets (1986)Description / Buy at
A Poison That Leaves No Trace (1990)Description / Buy at
Full Circle (1991)Description / Buy at
A Little Missionary Work (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Mysteries (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Deadly Allies Books

Deadly Allies (With: Sara Paretsky,Jan Grape,Susan Dunlap,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Sarah Andrews,Bob Randisi) (1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II (By: Susan Dunlap,Loren D. Estleman,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mean Streets(1986)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories(1988)Description / Buy at
An Eye for Justice(1988)Description / Buy at
City Sleuths and Tough Guys(1989)Description / Buy at
Sisters in Crime 2(1990)Description / Buy at
A Woman's Eye(1991)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies(1992)Description / Buy at
The Year’s 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1991(1992)Description / Buy at
Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1992(1993)Description / Buy at
Great Mystery Series: Top Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
2nd Culprit(1993)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1993(1994)Description / Buy at
The Crown Crime Companion(1995)Description / Buy at
First Cases, Volume 1(1996)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 1998(1998)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Detective Stories(2000)Description / Buy at
Crime Story Collection(2000)Description / Buy at
A Poison That Leaves No Trace: With Mystery Jigsaw Puzzle(2002)Description / Buy at
Most Wanted(2002)Description / Buy at
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction(2004)Description / Buy at
A New Omnibus of Crime(2005)Description / Buy at
The Shamus Winners(2010)Description / Buy at

If you like Sue Grafton Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sue Grafton Books

4 Responses to “Order of Sue Grafton Books”

  1. bobbi: 3 years ago

    I have been out of the reading arena for awhile sooo is there a ” Z” ?


  2. erik: 6 years ago

    There will be noZ as per her request


  3. Steve Maxedon: 6 years ago

    Did she have a draft of “Z is for ….”?


    • Brandon: 6 years ago

      Z is for Zero is slated for Fall 2019. I am unsure of how far along she was.


Leave a Reply