Mary Russell is a fictional detective featured in a series of books by American novelist Laurie R. King. The series is written in past-tense by an older Mary Russell, who tells her memoirs from about 1915 to 1920. She meets a middle-aged version of the famous detective Sherlock Holmes, who becomes her mentor.

The Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series began in 1994 with The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. Below is a list of Laurie R. King’s books in order of when they were originally published (with notes on when the chronological order differs from the publication order):

Get notified when Laurie R. King releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Books

The Beekeeper's Apprentice(1994)Description / Buy at
A Monstrous Regiment of Women(1995)Description / Buy at
A Letter of Mary(1996)Description / Buy at
The Moor(1998)Description / Buy at
O Jerusalem(1999)Description / Buy at
Justice Hall(2002)Description / Buy at
The Game(2004)Description / Buy at
Locked Rooms(2005)Description / Buy at
The Language of Bees(2009)Description / Buy at
The God of the Hive(2010)Description / Buy at
Beekeeping for Beginners(2011)Description / Buy at
Pirate King(2011)Description / Buy at
Garment of Shadows(2012)Description / Buy at
Dreaming Spies(2015)Description / Buy at
The Marriage of Mary Russell(2016)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Mary Russell(2016)Description / Buy at
Mary Russell's War(2016)Description / Buy at
Mary's Christmas(2016)Description / Buy at
Island of the Mad(2018)Description / Buy at
Riviera Gold(2020)Description / Buy at
Castle Shade(2021)Description / Buy at
The Lantern's Dance(2024)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Books

The events of O Jerusalem take place towards the end of The Beekeeper's Apprentice.

Publication Order of Mary Russell Non-Fiction Books

The Mary Russell Companion(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes Books

3 Responses to “Order of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes Books”

  1. Deborah Spalding: 3 years ago

    I know that I read a book in the Mary Russell series in which they return to England from Palestine. They have to pretend to be estranged in order to solve who it is trying to Kill Holmes ? Can any one post the title of this book ?

    Thank You


    • Therese Dougherty: 3 years ago

      I believe you are referring to “O Jerusalem”


    • Fay: 2 years ago

      That’s actually towards the end of the first book in the series, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice.


Leave a Reply