Deborah Crombie‘s Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series is a mystery series set in the United Kingdom. Although Crombie is American, she has lived in the UK and visits frequently. Duncan Kincaid is a superintendent in Scotland Yard and works alongside his wife Detective Inspector Gemma James to solve murders considered to be unsolvable.

The Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series currently consists of fourteen novels with more on the way. The series started in 1993 with A Share in Death with new novels coming out most years. Below is the order in which the Kincaid/James series was published in:

Get notified when Deborah Crombie releases a new book at

Publication Order of Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Books

A Share in Death(1993)Description / Buy at
All Shall Be Well(1994)Description / Buy at
Leave the Grave Green(1996)Description / Buy at
Mourn Not Your Dead(1996)Description / Buy at
Dreaming of the Bones(1997)Description / Buy at
Kissed a Sad Goodbye(1999)Description / Buy at
A Finer End(2001)Description / Buy at
And Justice There Is None(2002)Description / Buy at
Now May You Weep(2003)Description / Buy at
In a Dark House(2004)Description / Buy at
Water Like a Stone(2007)Description / Buy at
Where Memories Lie(2008)Description / Buy at
Necessary as Blood(2009)Description / Buy at
Nocturne(2010)Description / Buy at
No Mark Upon Her(2011)Description / Buy at
The Sound of Broken Glass(2013)Description / Buy at
To Dwell in Darkness(2014)Description / Buy at
Garden of Lamentations(2017)Description / Buy at
A Bitter Feast(2019)Description / Buy at
A Killing of Innocents(2023)Description / Buy at
Nocturne is a novella that does not appear to be available for purchase anymore.

If You Like Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Books

Leave a Reply