Deborah Crombie is an American author who always felt she belonged in Great Britain. Crombie would eventually move there but found little success as an author. It wasn’t until she moved back to Texas when she got her first Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James book published.

Deborah Crombie made her debut as an author in 1993 with A Share in Death. Below is a list of Deborah Crombie’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Deborah Crombie releases a new book at

Publication Order of Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Books

A Share in Death (1993)Description / Buy at
All Shall Be Well (1994)Description / Buy at
Leave the Grave Green (1996)Description / Buy at
Mourn Not Your Dead (1996)Description / Buy at
Dreaming of the Bones (1997)Description / Buy at
Kissed a Sad Goodbye (1999)Description / Buy at
A Finer End (2001)Description / Buy at
And Justice There Is None (2002)Description / Buy at
Now May You Weep (2003)Description / Buy at
In a Dark House (2004)Description / Buy at
Water Like a Stone (2007)Description / Buy at
Where Memories Lie (2008)Description / Buy at
Necessary as Blood (2009)Description / Buy at
Nocturne (2010)Description / Buy at
No Mark Upon Her (2011)Description / Buy at
The Sound of Broken Glass (2013)Description / Buy at
To Dwell in Darkness (2014)Description / Buy at
Garden of Lamentations (2017)Description / Buy at
A Bitter Feast (2019)Description / Buy at
A Killing of Innocents (2023)Description / Buy at
Nocturne is a novella that does not appear to be available for purchase anymore.

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: The Sunken Sailor is collaborative novel also written by Simon Brett, Jan Burke, Dorothy Cannell, Margaret Coel, Eileen Dreyer, Carolyn Hart, Edward Marston, Francine Mathews, Sharan Newman, Alexandra Ripley, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith and Carolyn Wheat.

If You Like Deborah Crombie Books, You’ll Love…

Deborah Crombie Synopses: A Share in Death by Deborah Crombie is the first Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James novel. Superintendent Duncan Kincaid of Scotland Yard just wants a week off in a posh timeshare in Yorkshire. However, Kincaid’s vacation comes to an end before it even begins when he discovers a body floating in the whirlpool bath. At Followdale House, one of his new acquaintances has passed away; Another one is deadly. Kincaid is compelled to send for his enthusiastic young assistant, Sergeant Gemma James, despite the obvious lack of cooperation from the local constabulary. Kincaid’s keen sense of duty won’t let him ignore the heinous crime. However, after a second murder, the stakes are dramatically raised, and Kincaid and James are drawn into a determined search for a vicious criminal who takes a little bit too much pleasure in killing people.

All Shall Be Well by Deborah Crombie is the second entry in the Kincaid & James series. When Jasmine Dent passes away in her sleep, it might be a blessing. The agony of a body that has been horribly ravaged by disease has finally ended. It’s possible that it was suicide; She had unquestionably indicated that she was willing to speed up the inevitable. However, a surprising conclusion is reached by her neighbor, Scotland Yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid: The death of Jasmine Dent was a murder. But why would someone destroy a life that was already so fragile and doomed if not for mercy? A troubling puzzle begins to emerge as Kincaid and his competent and likable assistant Sergeant Gemma James sift through the bizarre past of the deceased woman: a bizarre amalgam of charity and crime. as well as of the blinding passions that can cause animals to behave cruelly and inhumanly.

Leave the Grave Green is the third Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James book from novelist Deborah Crombie. The circumstances eerily recall a strangely similar tragedy when Connor Swann, the irritable son-in-law of famous and influential Sir Gerald and Dame Caroline Asherton, is discovered floating in a Thames River lock. Matthew Asherton, the young musical genius of the Asherton family, drowned in a raging stream twenty years ago while he was with his sister Julia, Connor Swann’s wife.

Sergeant Gemma James and Police Superintendant Duncan Kincaid quickly learn that Connor’s death was not an accident and that the Asherton family is not as it seems. Even though Connor hasn’t spoken to Julia in over a year, he still lives in Julia’s London apartment. His activities with women and gambling point to a lot of reasons. These are just a few of the dark secrets that haunt the suspects—the Ashertons are much more attached to Connor than they are to their own daughter. Gemma must confront her own troubling feelings for Kincaid as Kincaid finds himself dangerously drawn to Julia Swann and new lies cover up older lies.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Deborah Crombie Books

5 Responses to “Order of Deborah Crombie Books”

  1. Lynda Wildes: 3 years ago

    When is Deborir Crombie releasing the next GemmaJames/Kincaid book. I am having withdrawal. My book club friends keep asking also.
    Thank you.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be any news on a new one yet. I browsed her social media but didn’t see anything talking about it.


  2. Jeanne Lese: 4 years ago

    please — which of the Gemma James/ Kincaid books features Gemma’s friend moving to Scotland to produce Scotch whiskey?


    • Graeme: 4 years ago

      I believe it is Now May You Weep


  3. Mongoose218: 8 years ago

    REALLY well written books, which grab you and don’t let go!


Leave a Reply