Peter James is an English novelist who also worked as a screenwriter and producer in film. His series features Detective Superintendent Roy Grace, who is based in Brighton (James’ hometown). The genres covered by James include techno-thrillers, spy fiction and supernatural thrillers.

Peter James’ first novel, Dead Letter Drop, was published in 1981. For the next 20+ years, he wrote standalone novels until beginning the Roy Grace series in 2005. Below is a list of Peter James’ novels in order of publication date and chronological order:

Get notified when Peter James releases a new book at

Publication Order of Roy Grace Books

Dead Simple (2005)Description / Buy at
Looking Good Dead (2006)Description / Buy at
Not Dead Enough (2007)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Footsteps (2008)Description / Buy at
Dead Tomorrow (2009)Description / Buy at
Dead Like You (2010)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Grip (2011)Description / Buy at
Not Dead Yet (2012)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Time (2013)Description / Buy at
Want You Dead (2014)Description / Buy at
You Are Dead (2015)Description / Buy at
Love You Dead (2016)Description / Buy at
Need You Dead (2017)Description / Buy at
Dead If You Don't (2018)Description / Buy at
Dead at First Sight (2019)Description / Buy at
Find Them Dead (2020)Description / Buy at
Left You Dead (2021)Description / Buy at
Picture You Dead (2022)Description / Buy at
Stop Them Dead (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Roy Grace Short Stories/Novellas Books

Footloose (With: Val McDermid) (2019)Description / Buy at
Wish You Were Dead (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cold Hill Books

The House on Cold Hill (2015)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Cold Hill (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Max Flynn Books

Dead Letter Drop (1981)Description / Buy at
Atom Bomb Angel (1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Twist of the Knife (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Perfect Murder (2010)Description / Buy at
Christmas is for the Kids (2011)Description / Buy at
In the Nick of Time (With: Ian Rankin) (2014)Description / Buy at
Footloose (With: Val McDermid) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The MatchUp Collection Books

Honor & ... (By: C.J. Box,Sandra Brown) (2017)Description / Buy at
Deserves to Be Dead (By: John Sandford,Lisa Jackson) (2017)Description / Buy at
Getaway (By: Lisa Scottoline,Nelson DeMille) (2017)Description / Buy at
Midnight Flame (By: Christopher Rice,Lara Adrian) (2018)Description / Buy at
Short Story (By: Karin Slaughter,Michael Koryta) (2019)Description / Buy at
Past Prologue (By: Diana Gabaldon,Steve Berry) (2019)Description / Buy at
Faking a Murderer (By: Lee Child,Kathy Reichs) (2019)Description / Buy at
Dig Here (By: Charlaine Harris,Andrew Gross) (2019)Description / Buy at
Taking the Veil (By: J.A. Jance,Eric Van Lustbader) (2019)Description / Buy at
Rambo on Their Minds (By: Gayle Lynds,David Morrell) (2019)Description / Buy at
Footloose (With: Val McDermid) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Death Comes Knocking (With: Graham Bartlett) (2016)Description / Buy at
Babes In The Wood (With: Graham Bartlett) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Giant Book of Fantasy Tales(1996)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 7(2010)Description / Buy at
The Sounds Of Crime(2010)Description / Buy at
No Rest for the Dead(2011)Description / Buy at
Venice Noir(2012)Description / Buy at
The Killer Cookbook(2012)Description / Buy at
OxCrimes: 27 Killer Stories from the Cream of Crimewriters(2014)Description / Buy at
FaceOff(2014)Description / Buy at
MatchUp(2017)Description / Buy at
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at
Afraid of the Shadows(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: In the Nick of Time was co-authored with Ian Rankin. Death Comes Knocking was written with Graham Bartlett.

If You Like Peter James Books, You’ll Love…

Peter James Synopses: I Follow You is a standalone novel by Peter James. Marcus Valentine is a suave, charming, and self-assured doctor who appears to have everything. A great job, a loving wife, and three children. However, something is missing – it always has been… or, more accurately, someone…

He almost hits a female jogger on a crossing one morning as he drove to work with his mind off the road. Marcus stares in awe as she continues to run. She resembles a girl he adored as a teenager in every way – a girl who he has never been able to forget.

He had been harshly dumped by Lynette.He has fantasized about seeing her once more and rekindling their romance for years. After all these years, could that jogger be her? Could this be the most amazing synchronicity?

He tries to resist, but his cravings for this woman consume him. His obsession also threatens to devastate both of their worlds when circumstances take tragically unexpected turns. He still won’t stop, though. He cannot.

Perfect People by Peter James is a standalone title. John and Naomi are in mourning after their four-year-old son passed away from a rare genetic condition. Despite the fact that they are aware that their next child has a high risk of contracting the same disease, they long for another child.

Then they learn about Dr. Leo Dettore, a geneticist. He has techniques that can prevent them from suffering the pain of losing another child to disease.

When they saw the list, they should have realized that something was wrong. Choices regarding hair, sporting abilities, and eye color. They are actually able to design their child. It is too late to turn around now. Naomi is pregnant, and there are already serious problems.

Faith is a standalone novel by Peter James. Ross Ransom is the best in his field; one of the business’s most successful and unquestionably wealthiest plastic surgeons. It makes sense that such a man would expect his wife to be flawless. After all, he has performed enough surgeries to get her there. However, when his wife becomes ill, she abandons conventional medicine and her unhappy marriage to Ransom in favor of alternative medicine and a charismatic therapist who promises more than just medical relief. This is Ransom’s greatest act of betrayal. It defies logic, and Ross Ransom is a deeply logical individual who sees no reason why any man should have a wife if they are unable to do so. Ross Ransom is about to take a very rational, murderous, course of action.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter James Books

2 Responses to “Order of Peter James Books”

  1. Joann Ciprut: 10 years ago

    I am also an avid reader. I have discovered Peter James and I can’t put any of his books down. I stay up late at night just to see what will happen next. I am so happy to have found this wonderful author. What a gift you have to write such extrordinary stories. I’m in awe.


  2. Carolyn: 11 years ago

    as an avid book reader and casual library assistant i have only just discovered Peter James, my first book was “Perfect People” my whole world ground to a halt as i could not put this book down, i also lost sleep to and i am now addicted to this amazing author…thanks


Leave a Reply