Harlan Coben
Harlan Coben is an American author of mystery and thriller novels. He is a rather unique author in the sense that he focuses strongly on both standalone novels and a series of novels starring a recurring character. He writes the Myron Bolitar (for adults) and Mickey Bolitar series (for young adults). The American author’s novels are famous for their plot twists, and always keep you guessing. Not the type of book you want to start an hour before bedtime!

Harlan Coben made his debut as a published author in 1990 with the standalone novel Play Dead. Below is a list of all Harlan Coben novels in publication order:

Get notified when Harlan Coben releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Myron Bolitar Books

Publication Order of Mickey Bolitar Books

Publication Order of Windsor Horne Lockwood III Books

Publication Order of Wilde Books

The Boy from the Woods (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Match (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Simple Philosophy (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Magical Fantastical Fridge (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 7(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Opening Shots, Vol. II(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Do Us Part(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pulp Fiction: The Crimefighters(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Mystery Stories 2011(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Suspense Magazine April 2012(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook: Wickedly Good Meals and Desserts to Die For(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Birds of Prey: The Harlan Coben Challenge(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The Best American Mystery Stories 2011 is collaborated on with series editor Otto Penzler.

If You Like Harlan Coben Books, You’ll Love…

Harlan Coben Synopses: Play Dead is a standalone title by Harlan Coben, and is the author’s debut novel. Although supermodel Laura Ayars and Celtics star David Baskin said “I do,” tragedy struck as soon as they tied the knot. David went swimming during their honeymoon on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, but he never came back.

Laura is grieving and widowed, and she has a million questions but no answers. While a rookie phenom makes his spectacular debut on the court at Boston Garden, her search for the truth will lead her into a web of lies and deceit that spans thirty years…

Miracle Cure by Harlan Coben is a standalone novel. They rank among the most telegenic couples in the nation: beloved television journalist Sara Lowell and Michael Silverman, the hottest basketball player in New York. They are connected to the highest ranks of the political, medical, and sports worlds through their social and family ties, which will entangle them in one of the most contentious and deadly issues of our time.

A doctor has made it his life’s work to eradicate a disease that causes division and devastation in a clinic on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. His patients are getting better one by one. They are being targeted by a serial killer one at a time. Michael has also been diagnosed with this disease. There is only one way to recover, but numerous ways to die…

I Will Find You is a standalone novel by Harlan Coben. David Burroughs was once a devoted father to his three-year-old son Matthew, living the life of a dream just a short drive away from the working-class suburb where he and his wife, Cheryl, first fell in love. That is, until one fateful night, when David awoke to find that Matthew had been killed while David was sleeping just down the hall.

David was wrongly accused of the murder and was found guilty a half-decade later. He was sentenced to life in a maximum-security prison, a fate he was unable to fight because of his grief and guilt. Without him, the world has moved on. Then, Rachel, Cheryl’s younger sister, makes an unexpected appearance during visiting hours with an odd photograph. A boy with an eerie resemblance to David’s son is barely visible in the background of a vacation photo that she shared with a friend of hers of a busy amusement park. David simply knows, despite the fact that it cannot be: Matthew had not been murdered.

David decides to make a terrifying escape because he wants to do the unthinkable: save his son, clear his name, and learn the truth about what happened. But with the FBI following David’s every move and risking his life, can David elude capture long enough to reveal the shocking truth?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Harlan Coben Books

4 Responses to “Order of Harlan Coben Books”

  1. Samee: 2 years ago

    I like listening to audiobooks, and I don’t understand why Harlan Coben stopped making them available? It seems that all his latest books are in text form only. I especially liked the Myron Bolitar Series in audio format read by Jonathan Marosz, who really brings the characters to life.


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Samee – I’m not sure what you mean. I just checked and his two most recent books were released in audiobook format. His upcoming book The Match is available in audio format too.


  2. Lisa King-Boyle: 7 years ago

    I ordered Play Dead first and was thoroughly impressed. I have always had a tendency of reading women authors, only because I found out that most of the men authors have a hard time writing in a woman’s perspective.
    As soon as I got reading Play Dead, I knew I was hooked. Excellent writer.

    As for The Woods, I am thoroughly enjoying this book also. This is written in the perspective of a male main character. That being said though, I did find myself getting confused a few times about halfway through this book as to who was male and which characters were female. Some of this I think may be due to the cool names that they have!
    Some of the reason for this may be due to me listening to this book instead of just reading directly.
    I am so appreciative of having these be voice enabled as I get severe migraines and so I do not have to try and read them myself because I can have it read to me. Thank you!


  3. Mongoose218: 9 years ago

    REALLY enjoying his stand alone books, which I hadn’t read until now……read the Myron Bolitor books a long time ago, they’re also good but I think the standalone books are actually better.


Leave a Reply