Joe Pickett is a series of novels by American author C.J. Box. Joe Pickett is not an action hero, but rather a Wyoming game warden who just wants to do the right thing. In order to perfect the character, C.J. Box has ridden with Wyoming game wardens in order to experience the life of a game warden.

C.J. Box started the Joe Pickett series in 2001 with Open Season. Box won several awards for that novel, including Best First Novel. Below is the order of when the Joe Pickett novels were first published:

Get notified when C.J. Box releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Pickett Books

Publication Order of Joe Pickett Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Joe Pickett Collections

Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joe Pickett Books, You’ll Love…

Joe Pickett Synopses: Open Season is the first Joe Pickett book by C.J. Box. In the town of Twelve Sleep, Wyoming, where hunting is a way of life and the local game warden, Joe Pickett, is known for his unwavering ethics, things take a personal turn when a local hunting outfitter is found dead on his property. Joe’s refusal to accept bribes or turn a blind eye makes him an unpopular figure. Yet, the circumstances surrounding the outfitter’s death pique his curiosity. Despite the resolution of the “outfitter murders,” which claim two more lives, Joe remains unsatisfied with the seemingly simple answers provided by the local authorities.

Driven by a nagging unease, Joe delves deeper into the mystery. His investigation reveals more than just death at his doorstep; it uncovers a rare and endangered species, previously thought to be extinct, concealed within his woodpile. The implications of this discovery are far-reaching, especially for InterWest, a powerful natural gas company planning to construct an oil pipeline across the Wyoming landscape. The existence of this species could jeopardize their billion-dollar project.

As Joe inches closer to unraveling the truth behind the outfitter murders, the resurgence of the endangered species, and InterWest’s plans, he finds himself on a collision course with forces that are determined to protect their interests at any cost. With each step, Joe risks not only his own safety but also the well-being of everything he holds dear. As the stakes escalate, he must navigate a treacherous path, balancing his commitment to justice with the need to safeguard his loved ones.

Savage Run by C.J. Box is book 2 in the Joe Pickett series. In the quiet expanse of Twelve Sleep County, Wyoming, a powerful explosion shatters the tranquility of the forests. Joe Pickett, the local game warden, is summoned to the scene to aid in the inquiry into the death of an eccentric environmental activist. The official conclusion quickly attributes the incident to a botched environmental demonstration, but Joe’s intuition refuses to accept this tidy explanation.

Delving deeper, Joe uncovers a trail of evidence that hints at a much darker truth, a truth that points to a web of secrecy and danger. As he investigates, Joe becomes entangled in a complex conspiracy that challenges not only his bravery and survival skills but also his unyielding commitment to upholding his principles, no matter the personal cost.

Despite the prevailing narrative, Joe remains resolute in his quest for the truth. In a battle against powerful forces, he navigates treacherous terrain, both physical and moral, as he strives to unveil the hidden motives behind the explosion. The journey tests not only his resilience but also his unwavering dedication to justice, pushing him to the limits of his capabilities.

As he follows the trail of clues, Joe must confront adversaries who will stop at nothing to protect their interests. In a relentless pursuit of the truth, he is faced with choices that could alter his life forever. Will he have the strength to stand firm in the face of adversity and do what he believes is right, regardless of the personal sacrifices required?

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Joe Pickett Books

4 Responses to “Order of Joe Pickett Books”

  1. David V Viland: 11 months ago

    Have enjoyed everyone of the Joe Picket series, and now grieving that the next one this series is still one year away.


  2. Mary Gates: 1 year ago

    Ever since I started reading the Joe Pickett series, I have thoroughly enjoyed them. You feel like you’re there in the mountains in the woods and the characters are so Authentic and real. Just love these books and I hope C.J. Box Will continue the series.


  3. Marsha: 2 years ago

    My husband and I have read the entire Joe Pickett series and have enjoyed them so much. Author C.J. Box makes his characters and plots quite realistic.His depictions of Wyoming ang Yellowstone make me want to go there. I hope he will continue this series! Even Game wardens age.
    We really appreciate that his books are available in large print and in the library, since my husband has some visual impairment.


  4. Judy Henschler: 2 years ago

    Just love the Joe Pickett series – read every one of them and wondering if the series will continue (sure hope so). Once I start reading, very hard to put down.

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply