Hamish Macbeth is a character and mystery series by Scottish author Marion Chesney (as M.C. Beaton). The series is set in the Scottish Highlands and follows the Hamish Macbeth character in his adventures as a cop. He is lazy and an underachiever who purposely sabotages any chance of a promotion.

M.C. Beaton’s Hamish Macbeth series began in 1985 with Death of a Gossip. Virtually every novel in the Hamish Macbeth series begins with “Death of a.” The series consists of nearly 30 novels at this time. Below is the order of the Hamish Macbeth series in order of when the books were originally released:

Publication Order of Hamish Macbeth Books

Death of a Gossip (1985)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Cad (1987)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of an Outsider (1988)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Perfect Wife (1989)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Hussy (1990)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Snob (1992)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Prankster (1992)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Glutton / Death of a Greedy Woman (1993)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Travelling Man (1993)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Charming Man (1994)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Nag (1995)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Macho Man (1996)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Dentist (1997)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Scriptwriter (1998)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of an Addict (1999)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
A Highland Christmas (1999)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Dustman (2001)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Celebrity (2002)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Village (2003)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Poison Pen (2004)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Bore (2005)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Dreamer (2006)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Maid (2007)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Gentle Lady (2008)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Witch (2009)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Valentine (2009)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Chimney Sweep / Death of a Sweep (2011)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Kingfisher (2012)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of Yesterday (2013)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Policeman (2014)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Liar (2015)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Knock, Knock, You're Dead! (2016)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Nurse (2016)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Ghost (2017)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of an Honest Man (2018)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr
Death of a Green-Eyed Monster (2021)Amazon.com | Amazon.fr

Note: Death of a Glutton is also titled Death of a Greedy Woman.

If You Like Hamish Macbeth Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hamish Macbeth Books

18 Responses to “Order of Hamish Macbeth Books”

  1. wizardsagey: 3 years ago

    Does anyone know what happened to Mary Bromley in Death of a Chimney Sweep? Only Sanders, Castle and their wives are mentioned as being in prison in Brazil in chapter 11 and going to trial at the end of chapter 12. Also what happened to the money Hamish took from Prosser’s safe?


  2. Steve Y: 4 years ago

    I have managed to read these books through our local libraries inter library loan program – if you live in Ohio, look into it . I continue to enjoy the series and no, Hamish is not the policeman killed off in the book of the same name.


    • Janet Yang: 1 month ago

      InterLibrary Loan is a priceless resource!


  3. Brian M. Leahy: 4 years ago

    I note that there is a list of Hamish Macbeth books above but I can see no way of ordering a collection from any of the advertisers shown in the hope that I save on postage.


    • Graeme: 4 years ago

      Hi Brian,

      Your best bet would be to search Amazon for “Hamish MacBeth omnibus” as that would lessen the amount of books you need to be. Or if you buy all new editions you’d get free shipping.


  4. Brian M. Leahy: 4 years ago

    My wife has given me a list of the Hamish Macbeth books she would like. Can anyone give me a way that I can order a selection from one distributor?


  5. Robert DeLong Ph.D.: 6 years ago

    This series has inspired me (the wife of R. DeLong) to research (again) our ancestry. My husband, Robert, and I have read thirteen of the series together and expect to continue–unless Beaton DOES kill off her main character in “Death of a Policeman.” How awful would that be?!


  6. Dedicatedpuppylady: 6 years ago

    Can someone please tell me if the chronological order and the publication order to the Hamish Macbeth series are the same?


    • Lynn Enright: 4 years ago

      I have read all of the books up to now, currently reading Death of a Ghost. The story builds with each successive story so the Order of Books list with the corresponding year is accurate. The amount of detail and motivation for the characters in the long range story is amazing. Death of an Honest Man is coming soon. I always look forward to the next adventure into mayhem with Hamish, Lugs and company.


  7. Arlene Smith: 7 years ago

    I love this series. I am so excited to see that a new book is coming out!


  8. Cordelia: 7 years ago

    You do know that the dead policeman is not Hamish, right?


  9. Arlene Smith: 7 years ago

    the main character is NOT destroyed in Death of a Policeman.


  10. dianna cole: 7 years ago

    I can’t imagine why an author would want to completely destroy her main character and the entire series with Death of a Policeman. I was sick when I read what she had done. Just can’t believe it.
    She must be either senile or just plain crazy.


    • jtaylor: 6 years ago

      Are you kidding ? I am nearing the end of the series and now I don’t want to finish what happens to the dog and cat ??


      • Arlene Smith: 6 years ago

        Hamish is NOT killed in Death of a Policeman


        • Norman O'Rourke: 4 years ago

          Does he not reach retirement age at some point since the first book came out 32 years ago


          • Kenn Day: 4 years ago

            Time moves more slowly in Highlands.

          • Beano: 4 months ago

            Time moves slowly… the most appropriate comment on these books so far. I’m with that view.

Leave a Reply