Miss Jane Marple (usually referred to as “Miss Marple”) has appeared in a dozen novels by British author Agatha Christie as well as 20 short stories. This elderly woman is often underestimated, but she is able to solve even the most difficult crimes. This is largely attributed to the time she has spent in St. Mary Mead making her knowledgeable about human nature. She is also very shrewd and intelligent.

The Miss Marple character has been portrayed by actresses including Gracie Fields, Margaret Rutherford, Angela Lansbury and others when she has made the jump to the silver screen or television. Her first appearance in a novel was in The Murder at the Vicarage in 1930 and her last in Sleeping Murder (which was written in 1940, but wasn’t published until 1976). Below is a list of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple novels in order of when they were published:

Publication Order of Miss Marple Books

The Murder at the Vicarage(1930)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Body in the Library(1942)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Moving Finger(1942)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Murder is Announced(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
They Do It With Mirrors(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Pocket Full of Rye(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
4:50 From Paddington / What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw!(1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side(1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Caribbean Mystery(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
At Bertram's Hotel(1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nemesis(1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sleeping Murder(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Miss Marple Collections

The Thirteen Problems(1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
13 Clues for Miss Marple(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Marple's Final Cases(1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Marple Short Stories(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Miss Marple Books, You’ll Love…

Miss Marple Synopsis: Miss Marple makes her debut in The Murder at the Vicarage. One of the least liked people of St. Mary Mead, Col. Protheroe has been found shot dead in the vicarage. Miss Marple must comb through a long list of suspects to find out who Col. Protheroe’s murderer is. It could even be the vicar! Murder at the Vicarage was adapted into a made-for-TV BBC movie in 1986, starring Joan Hickson as Miss Marple.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Miss Marple Books

One Response to “Order of Miss Marple Books”

  1. Joanna Gillian: 7 years ago

    QUESTION: Does anyone have a theory as to why Miss Marple doesn’t die but Poirot does? Can I assume Agatha was playing favors in favor of Marple? https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/aebb16f91897aca842d55824d2b30b9ba7564c95582addfbd455f0bdb3c4e2dc.jpg


Leave a Reply