Thomas Beresford and Prudence Cowley (better known as Tommy and Tuppence) are a couple of fictional detectives created by British author Agatha Christie. They stumbled into detective work accidentally, when they discovered it was more profitable than blackmail. Interestingly, unlike most of Christie’s characters, Tommy and Tuppence age inbetween their appearances.

The characters appeared first in The Secret Adversary in 1922 and strangely enough, would not appear in another novel for nearly 20 years. After that, it would be nearly 30 more years before their next book and then another 5 before their final full-length novel (the final novel written by Christie). They also appeared in a 1929 collection of short stories called Partners in Crime. Below is a list of all of the novels in which Tommy and Tuppence appear in:

Publication Order of Tommy and Tuppence Books

The Secret Adversary(1922)Description / Buy at
Partners in Crime(1929)Description / Buy at
N or M?(1941)Description / Buy at
By the Pricking of My Thumbs(1968)Description / Buy at
Postern of Fate(1973)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tommy & Tuppence Short Stories/Novellas

A Fairy in the Flat(1929)Description / Buy at
The Affair of the Pink Pearl(1929)Description / Buy at
The Man in the Mist(1977)Description / Buy at
The House of Lurking Death(1995)Description / Buy at
The Adventure of the Sinister Stranger(2012)Description / Buy at
Finessing the King(2012)Description / Buy at
Blindman's Buff(2013)Description / Buy at
The Gentleman Dressed in Newspaper(2013)Description / Buy at
A Pot of Tea(2013)Description / Buy at
The Crackler(2013)Description / Buy at
The Clergyman's Daughter/The Red House(2013)Description / Buy at
The Ambassador's Boots(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Tommy And Tuppence Books, You’ll Love…

Tommy and Tuppence Synopsis: N Or M is the second Tommy and Tuppence book. It takes place during World War II. While the Royal Air Force is struggling to fight the obvious threat posed by the Germans, there are also Nazis hiding in plain sight amongst the citizens of Great Britain. Tommy and Tuppence are chosen to unmask a man and woman spy at the Sans Souci hotel, but things take a surprising turn when a British agent is murdered.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Tommy and Tuppence Books

Leave a Reply