Maisie Dobbs is a fictional character and series of mystery novels by English author Jacqueline Winspear. Maisie starts out a nurse in post-WWI London, but when her mentor retires, the quirky Maisie takes up detective work.

The Maisie Dobbs series began with Maisie Dobbs in 2003. There are many books in the Maisie Dobbs series. Below is a list of Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Jacqueline Winspear releases a new book at

Publication Order of Maisie Dobbs Books

Maisie Dobbs(2003)Description / Buy at
Birds of a Feather(2004)Description / Buy at
Pardonable Lies(2005)Description / Buy at
Messenger of Truth(2006)Description / Buy at
An Incomplete Revenge(2008)Description / Buy at
Among the Mad(2009)Description / Buy at
The Mapping of Love and Death(2010)Description / Buy at
A Lesson in Secrets(2011)Description / Buy at
Elegy for Eddie(2012)Description / Buy at
Leaving Everything Most Loved(2013)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Place(2015)Description / Buy at
Journey to Munich(2016)Description / Buy at
In This Grave Hour(2017)Description / Buy at
To Die but Once(2018)Description / Buy at
The American Agent(2019)Description / Buy at
The Consequences of Fear(2021)Description / Buy at
A Sunlit Weapon(2022)Description / Buy at
The Comfort of Ghosts(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Maisie Dobbs Non-Fiction Books

What Would Maisie Do?(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maisie Dobbs Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Maisie Dobbs Books

3 Responses to “Order of Maisie Dobbs Books”

  1. Jane Lentz: 3 years ago

    I picked up ‘A Dangerous Place’ at the library and there was a book listed that is not in the list: ‘The Care and Management of Lies’. Is this a short story? It doesn’t show up in the library database either.


  2. Nancy Ryan: 3 years ago

    Thank you


Leave a Reply