Bruno Chief of Police by Martin Walker
Bruno, Chief of Police is a series of crime fiction novels by British author Martin Walker. The titular character, Bruno Courreges, is the chief of police in his hometown of St. Denis. He also enjoys cooking and hunting, grows his own food and has built his own house himself. In his job as chief of police, he applies his own sense of justice to the job and butts heads with detectives and politicians.

Martin Walker introduced his Bruno, Chief of Police series in 2008 with the title novel. Below is a list of Martin Walker’s Bruno, Chief of Police books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Martin Walker releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Books

Bruno, Chief of Police / Death in the Dordogne(2008)Description / Buy at
The Dark Vineyard(2009)Description / Buy at
Black Diamond(2010)Description / Buy at
The Crowded Grave(2011)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Cave(2012)Description / Buy at
Bruno and the Carol Singers / Bruno and le Pere Noel(2012)Description / Buy at
The Resistance Man(2013)Description / Buy at
The Children Return / Children of War / Death Undercover(2014)Description / Buy at
A Market Tale(2014)Description / Buy at
The Dying Season / The Patriarch(2015)Description / Buy at
Fatal Pursuit(2016)Description / Buy at
The Templars' Last Secret(2017)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Vengeance(2018)Description / Buy at
The Chocolate War(2018)Description / Buy at
The Body in the Castle Well(2019)Description / Buy at
A Birthday Lunch(2019)Description / Buy at
Oystercatcher(2020)Description / Buy at
The Shooting at Chateau Rock(2020)Description / Buy at
The Coldest Case(2021)Description / Buy at
Bruno's Challenge and Other Stories of the French Countryside(2022)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Troubadour(2022)Description / Buy at
A Chateau Under Siege(2023)Description / Buy at
A Grave in the Woods(2024)Description / Buy at

Note: Bruno and the Carol Singers is known as Bruno and le Pere Noel in the United Kingdom. The Dying Season is also known as The Patriarch.

If You Like Bruno, Chief Of Police Books, You’ll Love…

Bruno, Chief of Police Synopses: Bruno, Chief of Police by Martin Walker is the first novel in the series of the same name. When the head of an Algerian family is found murdered and St. Denis becomes unhinged. The townspeople immediately blame the killing on racism and the son of a doctor caught committing lewd acts around Nazi symbols becomes the prime suspect. Bruno, however, is not so convinced and believes the motive is not so simple.

The Dark Vineyard by Martin Walker is the second book in the series. In the heart of the narrative, two youthful individuals emerge — Max, an ardent environmentalist with dreams of crafting organic wine, and Fernando, the heir to a prominent American wine legacy. Their paths intersect as they both vie for the affection of Jacqueline, an alluring Québécoise student delving into the world of wine. Yet, as the story unfolds, the atmosphere becomes increasingly somber, ultimately converging on the occurrence of two perplexing deaths. Against this backdrop, Bruno, the central character, uncovers the inextricable connection between the current challenges and the lingering shadows of the past.

Black Diamond by Martin Walker is the third Bruno, Chief of Police novel. An undercurrent of danger grips the usually peaceful St. Denis. In rapid succession, the serene village experiences a series of unsettling incidents—attacks on Vietnamese merchants, a fire targeting an Asian restaurant, and the infiltration of subpar truffles from China into local markets. These events pose a significant threat to the lucrative truffle trade of the Dordogne region, which is worth millions annually. Amid this turmoil, Benoît “Bruno” Courrèges, a skilled chef, devoted wine enthusiast, and beloved chief of police, finds himself at the heart of the turmoil.

When a close hunting companion, an expert in truffles, is brutally killed, Bruno’s investigation takes a much more intricate turn. This friend wasn’t just a connoisseur of fine French cuisine; he was a former high-ranking intelligence agent, and it becomes evident that someone was intent on his demise.

As the baffling crimes persist, Bruno’s inquiry leads him through vibrant markets and dim cafes, from lavish banquets to tense negotiations, traversing between the region’s delightful delights and its concealed underworld. Along the way, he is reunited with a lost love—a determined policewoman assigned to the case—adding another layer of complexity to his pursuit of the truth.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Books

4 Responses to “Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Books”

  1. Keith: 5 years ago

    For some time I’ve been a Donna Leon Brunetti fan and have now just found your Bruno books. I’m into the first book and love it. However, in looking at what is available on Kindle, two of your books appear to be missing, namely, Children of War and A Market Tale. Are these going to be released as ebooks or will I have to find printed versions?


  2. Gina: 7 years ago

    The Children of War and The Children Return are the same book, book 7 in the series. You are missing The Patriarch, which is book 8. Because of you, I have two copies of book 7, and sadly no copy of book 8. I am very disappointed and a little worried that I can’t rely on your lists anymore. Please fix.


    • Graeme: 7 years ago

      The Patriarch was listed as the Dying Season on the list however I’ve updated it to list both titles. And I’m extremely sorry for the confusion about Children of War and The Children Return. It looks like that one was written with one title then reissued a year later without any noes about it and we missed it. I’ve only read the first 4 books so I wasn’t aware of it. Shoot me an e-mail at with your address and I’ll get a copy of the Dying Season/Patriarch sent to you as an apology.


  3. Merlin: 9 years ago

    Forensics and the Bruno books (go together) like love and marriage. He is somewhat sensual, even oversexed, but the intrigues in the books are always something I look forward to.


Leave a Reply