Donna Leon is an American author of crime fiction, best known for her series set in Venice that feature Commissiario Guido Brunetti. Donna has taught English lit around the world, in countries such as Switzerland, Iran, China, Italy and Saudi Arabia. Originally from New York, she has lived in Venice for over 25 years.

Donna Leon made her debut as a novelist in 1992 with the novel Death at La Fenice. Her novel Friends in High Places won the CWA Silver Dagger Award in 2000. Below is a list of Donna Leon’s books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Donna Leon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Guido Brunetti Books

Death at La Fenice (1992)Description / Buy at
Death in a Strange Country (1993)Description / Buy at
The Anonymous Venetian / Dressed for Death (1994)Description / Buy at
Venetian Reckoning / Death and Judgment (1995)Description / Buy at
Acqua Alta / Death in High Water (1996)Description / Buy at
The Death of Faith / Quietly in Their Sleep (1997)Description / Buy at
A Noble Radiance (1998)Description / Buy at
Fatal Remedies (1999)Description / Buy at
Friends in High Places (2000)Description / Buy at
A Sea of Troubles (2001)Description / Buy at
Wilful Behaviour (2002)Description / Buy at
Uniform Justice (2003)Description / Buy at
Doctored Evidence (2004)Description / Buy at
Blood from a Stone (2005)Description / Buy at
Through a Glass, Darkly (2006)Description / Buy at
Suffer the Little Children (2007)Description / Buy at
The Girl of His Dreams (2008)Description / Buy at
About Face (2009)Description / Buy at
A Question of Belief (2010)Description / Buy at
Drawing Conclusions (2011)Description / Buy at
Beastly Things (2012)Description / Buy at
The Golden Egg (2013)Description / Buy at
By its Cover (2014)Description / Buy at
Falling in Love (2015)Description / Buy at
The Waters of Eternal Youth (2016)Description / Buy at
Earthly Remains (2017)Description / Buy at
The Temptation of Forgiveness (2018)Description / Buy at
Unto Us a Son Is Given (2019)Description / Buy at
Trace Elements (2020)Description / Buy at
Transient Desires (2021)Description / Buy at
Give Unto Others (2022)Description / Buy at
So Shall You Reap (2023)Description / Buy at
A Refiner’s Fire (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Guido Brunetti Non-Fiction Books

Brunetti's Cookbook (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Jewels of Paradise (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Handel's Bestiary: In Search of Animals in Handel's Operas (2010)Description / Buy at
Venetian Curiosities (2012)Description / Buy at
My Venice and Other Essays (2013)Description / Buy at
Gondola (2013)Description / Buy at
Wandering Through Life: A Memoir (2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Anonymous Venetian was also published as Dressed for Death. A Venetian Reckoning was also published under the title Death and Judgment. Acqua Alta is also known as Death in High Water. The Death of Faith is also titled Quietly in Their Sleep. Brunetti’s Cookbook was also published using the title A Taste of Venice: At Table with Brunetti and was co-authored with Roberta Pianaro.

If You Like Donna Leon Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Donna Leon Books

2 Responses to “Order of Donna Leon Books”

  1. Mary Schmidt: 7 months ago

    That’s exactly who I meant, Graeme. No wonder I couldn’t find her!!!! The sad thing is …I collect her books!!!! I’m telling you, after your 74th birthday, its all downhill. Forgive me for wasting your time. 😏😏


    • Graeme: 7 months ago

      Haha no problem at all Mary 🙂


Leave a Reply