Commissario Guido Brunetti is the central character in a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Donna Leon. Brunetti is the police commissioner in Venice, Italy. With each case, we learn more about the criminal underbelly of Venice, as well as the lifestyle.

The Commissario Guido Brunetti series began in 1992 with the novel Death at La Fenice. Since then, there has been one book published per year in the series. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Donna Leon’s Guido Brunetti books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Donna Leon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Guido Brunetti Books

Death at La Fenice(1992)Description / Buy at
Death in a Strange Country(1993)Description / Buy at
The Anonymous Venetian / Dressed for Death(1994)Description / Buy at
Venetian Reckoning / Death and Judgment(1995)Description / Buy at
Acqua Alta / Death in High Water(1996)Description / Buy at
The Death of Faith / Quietly in Their Sleep(1997)Description / Buy at
A Noble Radiance(1998)Description / Buy at
Fatal Remedies(1999)Description / Buy at
Friends in High Places(2000)Description / Buy at
A Sea of Troubles(2001)Description / Buy at
Wilful Behaviour(2002)Description / Buy at
Uniform Justice(2003)Description / Buy at
Doctored Evidence(2004)Description / Buy at
Blood from a Stone(2005)Description / Buy at
Through a Glass, Darkly(2006)Description / Buy at
Suffer the Little Children(2007)Description / Buy at
The Girl of His Dreams(2008)Description / Buy at
About Face(2009)Description / Buy at
A Question of Belief(2010)Description / Buy at
Drawing Conclusions(2011)Description / Buy at
Beastly Things(2012)Description / Buy at
The Golden Egg(2013)Description / Buy at
By its Cover(2014)Description / Buy at
Falling in Love(2015)Description / Buy at
The Waters of Eternal Youth(2016)Description / Buy at
Earthly Remains(2017)Description / Buy at
The Temptation of Forgiveness(2018)Description / Buy at
Unto Us a Son Is Given(2019)Description / Buy at
Trace Elements(2020)Description / Buy at
Transient Desires(2021)Description / Buy at
Give Unto Others(2022)Description / Buy at
So Shall You Reap(2023)Description / Buy at
A Refiner’s Fire(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Guido Brunetti Non-Fiction Books

Brunetti's Cookbook(2009)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Anonymous Venetian was also published as Dressed for Death. A Venetian Reckoning was also published under the title Death and Judgment. Acqua Alta is also known as Death in High Water. The Death of Faith is also titled Quietly in Their Sleep.

If You Like Commissario Guido Brunetti Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Guido Brunetti Books

Leave a Reply