Christopher Buckley is an American author of satiricial novels and non-fiction books. He graduated cum laude from Yale University in 1976. Buckley shipped out in the Merchant Marine and at age 24 became managing editor of Esquire magazine. At age 29, he became chief speechwriter to the Vice President of the United States, George H.W. Bush. It was this experience that he based his novel The White House Mess on. Since 1989, he has been founder and editor-in-chief of Forbes Life magazine.

Christopher Buckley made his debut as a published author in 1982 with the non-fiction book Steaming to Bamboola. His first novel was The White House Mess, published in 1986. Below is a list of Christopher Buckley’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Christopher Buckley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The White House Mess (1986)Description / Buy at
Wet Work (1991)Description / Buy at
Thank You for Smoking (1994)Description / Buy at
God Is My Broker (1998)Description / Buy at
Little Green Men (1999)Description / Buy at
No Way to Treat a First Lady (2002)Description / Buy at
Florence of Arabia (2004)Description / Buy at
Boomsday (2007)Description / Buy at
Supreme Courtship (2008)Description / Buy at
They Eat Puppies, Don't They? (2012)Description / Buy at
The Relic Master (2015)Description / Buy at
The Judge Hunter (2018)Description / Buy at
Make Russia Great Again (2020)Description / Buy at
Has Anyone Seen My Toes? (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Steaming to Bamboola (1982)Description / Buy at
Washington Schlepped Here (2003)Description / Buy at
Sleepwalk (2006)Description / Buy at
Losing Mum and Pup (2009)Description / Buy at
But Enough About You (2014)Description / Buy at
The Long Embrace (2020)Description / Buy at
Naming the Lost (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Literary Review: The Glutton's Kitchen(2014)Description / Buy at
The Seven Deadly Virtues(2014)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Virtues: A Treasury of Conservative Tales for the Holidays(2015)Description / Buy at
Conservative Christmas Quotables(2016)Description / Buy at
Reel Verse: Poems about the Movies(2019)Description / Buy at
Now What?: The Voters Have Spoken―Essays On Life After Trump(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Christopher Buckley Books, You’ll Love…

Christopher Buckley Synopsis: Wet Work is a standalone title by Christopher Buckley. Charley Becker, head of one of America’s biggest conglomerates, is a man on a mission. His only granddaughter, the beloved Natasha, has been found dead in her flat after taking an accidental overdose of cocaine and now he is looking for revenge. Determined to find the men responsible, Charley starts by tracking down Natasha’s boyfriend, Tim. Then he finds the small-time dealers who supplied him. Charley’s way of doing business leaves no room for negotiation. But ‘wet work’ – the shooting of a victim from up close – is only half the story and the further up the chain Charley gets, the higher the stakes become. To nail Peru’s megalomaniac cocaine king, he will have to hire himself some hitmen, a gunboat and some truly extraordinary weaponry…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Christopher Buckley Books

Leave a Reply