Peter Abrahams is an American author of crime fiction and suspense novels. Abrahams writes Echo Falls Mysteries and standalone novels under his own name as well as well as the Chet & Bernie Mysteries under the pen name of Spencer Quinn. Stephen King has called Abrahams his “favourite American suspense novelist.” He is not to be confused with the South African author of the same name.

Peter Abrahams made his literary debut in 1980 with The Fury of Rachel Monette. Below is a list of Peter Abrahams’ books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Abrahams releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Mysteries Books

(as Spencer Quinn)

Dog On It (2008)Description / Buy at
Thereby Hangs a Tail (2009)Description / Buy at
To Fetch a Thief (2010)Description / Buy at
The Dog Who Knew Too Much (2011)Description / Buy at
A Fistful of Collars (2012)Description / Buy at
The Sound and the Furry (2013)Description / Buy at
Paw and Order (2014)Description / Buy at
Scents and Sensibility (2015)Description / Buy at
Heart of Barkness (2019)Description / Buy at
Of Mutts and Men (2020)Description / Buy at
Tender is the Bite (2021)Description / Buy at
It's a Wonderful Woof (2021)Description / Buy at
Bark to the Future (2022)Description / Buy at
Up on the Woof Top (2023)Description / Buy at
A Farewell to Arfs (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Short Stories/Novellas

(as Spencer Quinn)

A Cat Was Involved (2012)Description / Buy at
The Iggy Chronicles, Volume One (2013)Description / Buy at
Tail of Vengeance (2014)Description / Buy at
Santa 365 (2015)Description / Buy at
Short Tails (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bowser and Birdie Books

(as Spencer Quinn)

Publication Order of Den Of Shadows Books

Publication Order of Echo Falls Books

Down the Rabbit Hole (2005)Description / Buy at
Behind the Curtain (2006)Description / Buy at
Into the Dark (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlaws Of Sherwood Street Books

Stealing from the Rich / Robbie Forester and the Outlaws of Sherwood Street (2012)Description / Buy at
Giving to the Poor (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Queenie & Arthur Books

(as Spencer Quinn)

Ruff vs. Fluff (2019)Description / Buy at
Paws vs. Claws (2019)Description / Buy at
Bark vs. Snark (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fury of Rachel Monette (1980)Description / Buy at
Tongues of Fire (1982)Description / Buy at
Red Message (1986)Description / Buy at
Hard Rain (1988)Description / Buy at
Pressure Drop (1989)Description / Buy at
Revolution #9 (1992)Description / Buy at
Lights Out (1994)Description / Buy at
The Fan (1995)Description / Buy at
A Perfect Crime (1998)Description / Buy at
Crying Wolf (2000)Description / Buy at
Last of the Dixie Heroes (2001)Description / Buy at
The Tutor (2002)Description / Buy at
Their Wildest Dreams (2003)Description / Buy at
Oblivion (2005)Description / Buy at
End of Story (2006)Description / Buy at
Nerve Damage (2007)Description / Buy at
Delusion (2008)Description / Buy at
Reality Check (2009)Description / Buy at
Bullet Point (2010)Description / Buy at
The Anfield Man (2017)Description / Buy at
The Right Side (As: Spencer Quinn) (2017)Description / Buy at
Mine Boy (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (2004)Description / Buy at
Quacky Baseball (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Laura Geringer Books

Return of the Shadows (By: Norma Farber,Andrea Baruffi) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Lost Sailor (By: Richard Egielski,Pam Conrad) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Same Wind (By: Barbara Bustetter Falk,Bette Killion) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Big Green Pocketbook (By: Felicia Bond,Candice Ransom) (1993)Description / Buy at
Horses With Wings (By: Lynn Curlee,Dennis Haseley) (1993)Description / Buy at
Cowboy Ed (By: Bill Grossman) (1993)Description / Buy at
Hurricane City (By: James Warhola,Sarah Weeks) (1993)Description / Buy at
Red Ribbon (By: Sarah Weeks,Jeffrey Greene) (1995)Description / Buy at
Asylum for Nightface (By: Bruce Brooks) (1996)Description / Buy at
Mean Margaret (By: Tor Seidler) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Silent Spillbills (By: Tor Seidler) (1998)Description / Buy at
Vanishing (By: Bruce Brooks) (1999)Description / Buy at
Brainboy and the DeathMaster (By: Tor Seidler) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Midnight Diary of Zoya Blume (By: Laura Shaine Cunningham) (2005)Description / Buy at
Ariel (By: Grace Tiffany) (2005)Description / Buy at
Wind Rider (By: Susan Williams) (2006)Description / Buy at
House of Dance (By: Beth Kephart) (2008)Description / Buy at
Alive and Well in Prague, New York (By: Daphne Benedis-Grab) (2008)Description / Buy at
Reality Check (2009)Description / Buy at
I, Lorelei (By: Yeardley Smith) (2009)Description / Buy at
I, Loreleiby Smith, YeardleyHardcover (By: Yeardley Smith,Sarah Weeks) (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Peter Abrahams Books, You’ll Love…

Note: The Chet and Bernie series, the Bowser and Birdie series, and the novel The Right Side are written under the pseudonym of Spencer Quinn.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Abrahams / Spencer Quinn Books

Leave a Reply