The Chet and Bernie Mysteries is a series of dog-themed mystery novels by American novelist Spencer Quinn (Peter Abrahams). Together, Bernie and his dog Chet run a detective agency.

The Chet and Bernie series began in 2009 with Dog On It. Below is a list of Spencer Quinn’s Chet and Bernie books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Spencer Quinn releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Mysteries Books

Dog On It(2008)Description / Buy at
Thereby Hangs a Tail(2009)Description / Buy at
To Fetch a Thief(2010)Description / Buy at
The Dog Who Knew Too Much(2011)Description / Buy at
A Fistful of Collars(2012)Description / Buy at
The Sound and the Furry(2013)Description / Buy at
Paw and Order(2014)Description / Buy at
Scents and Sensibility(2015)Description / Buy at
Heart of Barkness(2019)Description / Buy at
Of Mutts and Men(2020)Description / Buy at
Tender is the Bite(2021)Description / Buy at
It's a Wonderful Woof(2021)Description / Buy at
Bark to the Future(2022)Description / Buy at
Up on the Woof Top(2023)Description / Buy at
A Farewell to Arfs(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Short Stories/Novellas

A Cat Was Involved(2012)Description / Buy at
The Iggy Chronicles, Volume One(2013)Description / Buy at
Tail of Vengeance(2014)Description / Buy at
Santa 365(2015)Description / Buy at
Short Tails(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chet & Bernie Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Chet and Bernie Books

2 Responses to “Order of Chet and Bernie Books”

  1. Unika: 8 years ago

    Where’s the Chet-and-Bernie eBook “Santa 365”?


  2. Acommontater: 9 years ago

    Just finished “Scents and Sensibilies”. Can’t say I liked the ambiguity of the ending. Hope my conclusion is wrong!


Leave a Reply