Christopher Cartwright is an Australian author best known for writing the long running Sam Reilly series of books. The series began in 2015 with the release of The Last Airship.

In addition to his work as an author, Christopher Cartwright is also a paramedic. He earned his Bachelors Degree in Paramedics from Charles Sturt University. He worked in major cities and in the outback of Australia during his career as a paramedic. It wasn’t until he had a child and that baby kept him up late at night that he decided to try his hand at writing. When the family had their second child, he switched to working part-time which allowed him to follow his dreams of becoming a successful author.

Get notified when Christopher Cartwright releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sam Reilly Books

The Last Airship (2015)Description / Buy at
The Mahogany Ship (2016)Description / Buy at
Atlantis Stolen (2016)Description / Buy at
Rogue Wave (2016)Description / Buy at
The Cassidy Project (2016)Description / Buy at
The Nostradamus Equation (2017)Description / Buy at
The Third Temple (2017)Description / Buy at
The Aleutian Portal (2017)Description / Buy at
Code to Extinction (2017)Description / Buy at
The Ironclad Covenant (2018)Description / Buy at
The Heisenberg Legacy (2018)Description / Buy at
Omega Deep (2018)Description / Buy at
The Holy Grail (2018)Description / Buy at
The Phoenix Sanction (2018)Description / Buy at
Habitat Zero (2018)Description / Buy at
The Hunt for Excalibur (2019)Description / Buy at
Ghost Ship (2019)Description / Buy at
The Tomb of El Dorado (2019)Description / Buy at
The Labyrinth Key (2019)Description / Buy at
The Obsidian Chamber (2020)Description / Buy at
Shangri-La (2020)Description / Buy at
Alexander's Treasure (2020)Description / Buy at
Valhalla Found (2021)Description / Buy at
Medusa's Curse (2021)Description / Buy at
Dragon's Breath (2022)Description / Buy at
The Vostok Enigma (2022)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Crew (2023)Description / Buy at
The Midas Vault (2024)Description / Buy at
The Medallion of Petra (2024)Description / Buy at
The Relic Hunter (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Price of Retribution (2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Christopher Cartwright Books, You’ll Love…

The Last Airship is the first book in the Sam Reilly series. The story begins in 1939 when a secret airship departs Germany in the middle of the night. The airship is filled with some of the most influential people and each of them are crying their most valuable items including one person carrying an item that was very dangerous. However, the ship never reached its destination and has been lost ever since. Until now, =when Sam Reilly discovers a clue about the ship which sends him on a treasure hunt to find it. He’s not the only one looking though as there are other, ruthless men on the hunt for it.

Another great book in the series is called Alexander’s Treasure. The title refers to Alexander the Great, one of the greatest military leaders of all time, and the great treasure he accumulated through his battles won. The legend says that he had gold minted with his likeness, but they have never been found in all the years since. However, that won’t stop Sam and Tom from hunting them down.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Christopher Cartwright Books

3 Responses to “Order of Christopher Cartwright Books”

  1. Danna M: 3 years ago

    Many thanks for listing this author’s books. I first found him when reading another of his series not currently listed. It started with ‘Cartwright’s Cavaliers’ and was so riveting with such exciting plotting that it kept me through several more in that series. I just read ‘The Holy Grail’ not realizing it was part of the Sam Reilly group. I can firmly state that it was easily read as a stand alone without prior knowledge of his Sam Reilly series. His writing is so fast paced that I find reading him which is outside my usual genre a pleasure.


  2. Pamela Armstrong: 3 years ago

    Is each book in the Sam Reilly series (by Christopher Cartwright) a stand-alone? Or is it helpful, but not necessary, to read them in order?

    As a side issue, I would like to give you a hearty hug to say thank you for your wonderful sites. I use them constantly and have benefitted repeatedly from them. (Don’t worry, even with my vaccine I will not soon be appearing on your doorstep with out-stretched arms. Pretend we Zoomed!)

    Thanks for everything,

    Pamela A.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Hi Pamela

      First just to clarify – when a comment is posted, it is held in moderation. I then have to go in and manually approve the comment. So it won’t display on the website until it is manually approved. That is to prevent spammers, negative comments, spoiler comments etc.

      Thank you for the feedback that is so much appreciated.

      I haven’t read the series so can’t personally comment but from what I have gathered from looking around – reading them as standalone will be fine.


Leave a Reply