Clare Chase is an English author of mystery novels. She writes the Eve Mallow series. Clare grew up in the Midlands of England, and studied English at London University. Clare is interested in what drives people, and how fierce emotions can escalate the mundane into crime. When she’s not writing, Clare enjoys spending time with her family. She also enjoys art, architecture, cooking, and reading.

Clare Chase made her debut in 2016 with You Think You Know Me, beginning her London and Cambridge series. Below is a list of Clare Chase’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Clare Chase releases a new book at

Publication Order of Eve Mallow Mystery Books

Mystery on Hidden Lane (2020)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage (2020)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Seagrave Hall (2020)Description / Buy at
Mystery at the Old Mill (2020)Description / Buy at
Mystery at the Abbey Hotel (2021)Description / Buy at
Mystery at the Church (2021)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Magpie Lodge (2022)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Lovelace Manor (2022)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Southwood School (2022)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Farfield Castle (2023)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Saltwater Cottages (2023)Description / Buy at
Mystery on Meadowsweet Grove (2024)Description / Buy at
Mystery at Lockley Grange (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of London and Cambridge Books

You Think You Know Me (2016)Description / Buy at
A Stranger's House (2017)Description / Buy at
One Dark Lie (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tara Thorpe Mystery Books

Murder on the Marshes (2018)Description / Buy at
Death on the River (2018)Description / Buy at
Death Comes to Call (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Fens (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Clare Chase Books, You’ll Love…

Clare Chase Synopses: Mystery on Hidden Lane is the first book in the Eve Mallow Mystery series from author Clare Chase. Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to recount the life story of renowned musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A few days in the charming village of Saxford St Peter, wandering the picturesque country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people, seems like a dream come true. However, Bernard’s life proves to be far less intriguing than his death. Upon her arrival, Eve learns that the charismatic cellist was brutally murdered. Could this idyllic English village be harboring a sinister secret?

As Eve begins interviewing Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she discovers that he had made quite a few enemies. From the staff at the Cross Keys Inn to his own employees at High House, nearly everyone in town had a reason to despise him. Could one of these seemingly amiable villagers be a cold-blooded killer?

Eve had hoped that Saxford St Peter would offer a peaceful escape from her hectic city life. But even in the most serene settings, darkness can lurk. When a second body is discovered, Eve becomes convinced that one of the people she has met is the murderer. Although she has never played detective before, she starts to wonder if there is a clue hidden in her notes that could solve the case.

Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage by Clare Chase is the second book in the Eve Mallow series. It’s spring in Saxford St Peter—a time for gardening, bird listening, and leisurely woodland strolls. But for some, it’s the season for murder.

Eve Mallow is enjoying the tranquil pace of village life until a new arrival stirs things up. Ashton Foley, a former teenage troublemaker turned celebrity interior designer, has returned. He’s wild, dangerous, and irresistibly charming—qualities that make every house in Saxford open its doors to him, including Eve’s.

When Ashton is found murdered in the woods near his mother’s home, Apple Tree Cottage, there’s no shortage of suspects. Could it be a jealous husband, a spurned lover, or someone from his past catching up with him?

The police quickly settle on a suspect and arrest Howard, Ashton’s mother’s partner. Ashton had always despised Howard, who shows signs of a recent fight. However, Ashton’s mother, currently in New Zealand, is convinced of Howard’s innocence and implores Eve to prove it.

There’s just one problem: Eve saw Howard lurking around Apple Tree Cottage on the morning of the murder, and she’s pretty sure he’s guilty, too…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Clare Chase Books

Leave a Reply