Colson Whitehead is an American author. He has won the Young Lions Fiction Award and the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award (for John Henry Days), and the PEN Oakland Award (for Apex Hides the Hurt). Colson is also a recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, Guggenheim Fellowship, and MacArthur Fellowship. He lives in New York City.

Colson Whitehead made his debut as a novelist in 1998 with the novel The Intuitionist. Below is a list of Colson Whitehead’s books in order of wehn they were originally released:

Get notified when Colson Whitehead releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ray Carney Books

Harlem Shuffle (2021)Description / Buy at
Crook Manifesto (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Intuitionist (1999)Description / Buy at
John Henry Days (2001)Description / Buy at
Apex Hides the Hurt (2006)Description / Buy at
Sag Harbor (2009)Description / Buy at
Zone One (2011)Description / Buy at
The Underground Railroad (2016)Description / Buy at
The Nickel Boys (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Colossus of New York (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Noble Hustle (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writing New York(1998)Description / Buy at
The Future Dictionary of America(2004)Description / Buy at
Brooklyn Noir 2(2005)Description / Buy at
Central Park: An Anthology(2012)Description / Buy at
Beastie Boys Book(2018)Description / Buy at
The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2022(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Colson Whitehead Books, You’ll Love…

Colson Whitehead Synopsis: In Apex Hides the Hurt by Colson Whitehead, the town of Winthrop has decided it needs a new name. The resident software millionaire wants to call it New Prospera; the mayor wants to return to the original choice of the founding black settlers; and the town’s aristocracy sees no reason to change the name at all. What they need, they realize, is a nomenclature consultant. And, it turns out, the consultant needs them. But in a culture overwhelmed by marketing, the name is everything and our hero’s efforts may result in not just a new name for the town but a new and subtler truth about it as well.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Colson Whitehead Books

Leave a Reply