Craig Rice is the pen name of American author Georgiana Ann Randolph Craig (1908-1957), who wrote mystery novels. She is known for her John J. Malone series. Her mysteries combined hardboiled detective fiction with screwball comedy. She also ghostwrote for George Sanders and Gypsy Rose Lee, and collaborated with Stuart Palmer and Ed McBain. Craig Rice was the first female author to ever appear on the cover of Time Magazine.

Craig Rice made her debut as a novelist in 1939 with the novel Eight Faces at Three (aka Death at Three). Below is a list of Craig Rice’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of John J. Malone Books

Eight Faces at Three / Death at Three (1939)Description / Buy at
The Corpse Steps Out (1940)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Murder (1940)Description / Buy at
The Right Murder (1941)Description / Buy at
Trial by Fury (1941)Description / Buy at
The Big Midget Murders (1942)Description / Buy at
Having a Wonderful Crime (1943)Description / Buy at
The Lucky Stiff (1945)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Postman (1948)Description / Buy at
The Double Frame / Knocked for a Loop (1957)Description / Buy at
My Kingdom for a Hearse (1957)Description / Buy at
The Name is Malone (1958)Description / Buy at
Murder, Mystery and Malone (1963)Description / Buy at
But the Doctor Died (1967)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bingo Riggs and Handsome Kusak Books

The Sunday Pigeon Murders (1942)Description / Buy at
The Thursday Turkey Murders (1943)Description / Buy at
The April Robin Murders (With: Ed McBain) (1958)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Yesterday's Murder / Telefair (1942)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Slept All Day (As: Michael Venning) (1942)Description / Buy at
To Catch a Thief (1943)Description / Buy at
Home Sweet Homicide (1944)Description / Buy at
Crime on My Hands (As: George Sanders) (1944)Description / Buy at
Stranger at Home (As: George Sanders, With: Leigh Brackett) (1946)Description / Buy at
Innocent Bystander (1949)Description / Buy at
Once Upon a Train (1950)Description / Buy at
Don't Go Near (1953)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

I'm a Stranger Here Myself and Other Stories (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gypsy Rose Lee Plays

(as Gypsy Rose Lee, Arthur Laurents)

Gypsy: A Musical Suggested by the Memoirs of Gypsy Rose Lee (With:Arthur Laurents) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Locked Room Reader: Stories of Impossible Crimes and Escapes(1968)Description / Buy at
Murder Plus(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder On The Railways(2003)Description / Buy at

If You Like Craig Rice Books, You’ll Love…

Craig Rice Synopsis: Yesterday’s Murder is a standalone title by Craig Rice. If it hadn’t been for his great-uncle Philip, David Telefair would’ve grown up unwanted, forlorn, and poverty stricken in a New England parsonage. But for twenty years, David’s generous benefactor paid for his education, yearly summer camps, living expenses as he grew older, and any amenities he ever needed. Odd that David had never spoken to him in his entire life. Odder still that after all this time, the aging Philip has now extended an invitation for David to meet him at his isolated estate on Telefair Island in the Chesapeake.

From the moment David arrives, something feels… off. First was the local minister’s daughter’s queer way of describing David’s visit: inevitable; then the unaccountable loathing in the eyes of a Telefair servant; and finally a perilously pale female cousin who welcomes David with a warning: “You ought never to have come.” This is less a family reunion than an ingeniously designed trap of murder, madness, and nasty family secrets.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Craig Rice Books

Leave a Reply