Rex Stout (1886-1975) was an American author of detective fiction, most famous for his series featuring detective Nero Wolfe. Aside from his Nero Wolfe series (which fills up the lion’s share of his prolific bibliography), he wrote one other series called Tecumseh Fox, many standalone novels, several short story collections and even a Nero Wolfe cookbook. Rex’s narrative and dialogue were top-notch, giving his novels a certain re-readable quality.

Stout’s first novel was a standalone novel titled Her Forbidden Knight, published in 1913. He would continue writing standalones until he wrote the first Nero Wolfe novel, Fer-de-Lance, published in 1934. Below is a list of Rex Stout’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe by Rex Stout Books

Fer-de-Lance / Meet Nero Wolfe (1934)Description / Buy at
The League of Frightened Men (1935)Description / Buy at
The Rubber Band / To Kill Again (1936)Description / Buy at
The Red Box / Case of the Red Box (1937)Description / Buy at
Too Many Cooks (1938)Description / Buy at
Some Buried Caesar / The Red Bull (1939)Description / Buy at
Over My Dead Body (1940)Description / Buy at
Where There's a Will (1940)Description / Buy at
Black Orchids (1942)Description / Buy at
Not Quite Dead Enough (1944)Description / Buy at
The Silent Speaker (1946)Description / Buy at
Too Many Women (1947)Description / Buy at
And Be a Villain / More Deaths Than One (1948)Description / Buy at
Trouble in Triplicate (1949)Description / Buy at
The Second Confession (1949)Description / Buy at
Even in the Best Families / In the Best Families (1950)Description / Buy at
Three Doors to Death / Door to Death (1950)Description / Buy at
Curtains for Three (1951)Description / Buy at
Murder by the Book (1951)Description / Buy at
Prisoner's Base / Out She Goes (1952)Description / Buy at
Triple Jeopardy (1952)Description / Buy at
The Golden Spiders (1953)Description / Buy at
The Black Mountain (1954)Description / Buy at
Three Men Out (1954)Description / Buy at
Before Midnight (1955)Description / Buy at
Might as Well Be Dead (1956)Description / Buy at
Three Witnesses (1956)Description / Buy at
If Death Ever Slept (1957)Description / Buy at
Three for the Chair (1957)Description / Buy at
And Four to Go / Crime and Again (1958)Description / Buy at
Champagne for One (1958)Description / Buy at
Plot it Yourself / Murder in Style (1959)Description / Buy at
Three at Wolfe's Door (1960)Description / Buy at
Too Many Clients (1960)Description / Buy at
The Final Deduction (1961)Description / Buy at
Homicide Trinity (1962)Description / Buy at
Gambit (1962)Description / Buy at
The Mother Hunt (1963)Description / Buy at
Trio for Blunt Instruments (1964)Description / Buy at
A Right to Die (1964)Description / Buy at
The Doorbell Rang (1965)Description / Buy at
Death of a Doxy (1966)Description / Buy at
The Father Hunt (1968)Description / Buy at
Death of a Dude (1969)Description / Buy at
Please Pass The Guilt (1973)Description / Buy at
A Family Affair (1975)Description / Buy at
Death Times Three (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe Mysteries by Robert Goldsborough Books

(with Robert Goldsborough)

Murder in E Minor (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1986)Description / Buy at
Death on Deadline (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1987)Description / Buy at
The Bloodied Ivy (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1988)Description / Buy at
The Last Coincidence (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1989)Description / Buy at
Fade to Black (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1990)Description / Buy at
Silver Spire (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Missing Chapter (By: Robert Goldsborough) (1993)Description / Buy at
Archie Meets Nero Wolfe (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2012)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Ball Park (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2014)Description / Buy at
Archie in the Crosshairs (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2015)Description / Buy at
Stop the Presses! (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2016)Description / Buy at
Murder, Stage Left (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2017)Description / Buy at
The Battered Badge (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2018)Description / Buy at
Death of an Art Collector (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2019)Description / Buy at
Archie Goes Home (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2020)Description / Buy at
Trouble at the Brownstone (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2021)Description / Buy at
The Missing Heiress (By: Robert Goldsborough) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe Short Stories/Novellas

Bitter End (1997)Description / Buy at
Disguise for Murder / The Twisted Scarf (2000)Description / Buy at
Booby Trap (2013)Description / Buy at
Cordially Invited to Meet Death (2014)Description / Buy at
The Last Drive: And Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at
Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Mo, and FLO! / Eeny Meeny Murder Mo (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tecumseh Fox Books

Double for Death (1939)Description / Buy at
Bad for Business (1940)Description / Buy at
The Broken Vase (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Her Forbidden Knight (1913)Description / Buy at
Under the Andes (1914)Description / Buy at
A Prize for Princes (1914)Description / Buy at
The Great Legend (1916)Description / Buy at
How Like a God (1929)Description / Buy at
Seed on the Wind (1930)Description / Buy at
Golden Remedy (1931)Description / Buy at
Forest Fire (1933)Description / Buy at
The President Vanishes (1934)Description / Buy at
O Careless Love! (1935)Description / Buy at
The Hand in the Glove / Crime on Her Hands (1937)Description / Buy at
Mr. Cinderella (1939)Description / Buy at
The Mountain Cat Murders / The Mountain Cat (1939)Description / Buy at
Red Threads (1939)Description / Buy at
The Sound of Murder / Alphabet Hicks (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Corsage (1977)Description / Buy at
Justice Ends At Home and Other Stories (1977)Description / Buy at
Target Practice (1997)Description / Buy at
An Officer and a Lady and Other Stories (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Nero Wolfe Cookbook (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Nero Wolfe Mystery Magazine Volume 1 Number 1, January 1954(1954)Description / Buy at
Hound Dunnit(1989)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
A Century of Great Suspense Stories(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Merry(2002)Description / Buy at

Notes: Fer-de-Lance was also published as Meet Nero Wolfe. The Rubber Band was also titled To Kill Again. The Red Box is also known as Case of the Red Box. Some Buried Caesar was also published as The Red Bull. And Be a Villain was also titled More Deaths Than One. Even in the Best Families was also titled In the Best Families. Three Doors to Death was also titled Door to Death. Prisoner’s Base was also titled Out She Goes. And Four to Go was also published as Crime And Again. Plot It Yourself is also known as Murder in Style. The Hand in the Glove is also known as Crime on Her Hands. Alphabet Hicks is also known as The Sound of Murder. The Mountain Cat was also titled The Mountain Cat Murders.

If You Like Rex Stout Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rex Stout Books

One Response to “Order of Rex Stout Books”

  1. Disgruntled52: 7 years ago

    I do believe that “Even in the Best Families” (Rex Stout) is actually entitled “In the Best Families”.


Leave a Reply