Colin Dexter is an English author of crime fiction, featuring his main character Inspector Morse. Dexter began writing on a family holiday in North Wales when it rained on a Saturday. With nothing else to do, Dexter sat down at the kitchen table and started writing a detective novel. Before becoming a published author, Dexter taught and worked as a secretary at Oxford.

Colin Dexter made his literary debut at 1975 with his first Inspector Morse novel, Last Bus to Woodstock. Below is a list of Colin Dexter’s books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector Morse Books

Last Bus to Woodstock (1975)Description / Buy at
Last Seen Wearing (1976)Description / Buy at
The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (1977)Description / Buy at
Service of All the Dead (1979)Description / Buy at
The Dead of Jericho (1981)Description / Buy at
The Riddle of the Third Mile (1983)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Annexe 3 (1986)Description / Buy at
The Wench Is Dead (1989)Description / Buy at
The Jewel That Was Ours (1989)Description / Buy at
The Way Through The Woods (1992)Description / Buy at
The Daughters of Cain (1994)Description / Buy at
Death Is Now My Neighbor (1996)Description / Buy at
The Remorseful Day (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Morse Collections

Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Evans Tries an O-Level (1993)Description / Buy at
The Other Half (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Chambers Morse Crosswords (2006)Description / Buy at
Cracking Cryptic Crosswords (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mysterious Profiles Books

Elvis Cole and Joe Pike (By: Robert Crais) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Taylor (By: Ken Bruen) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Reacher (By: Lee Child) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Parker (By: John Connolly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Hieronymus Bosch (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lincoln Rhyme (By: Jeffery Deaver) (2022)Description / Buy at
Alex Delaware (By: Jonathan Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Tess Monaghan (By: Laura Lippman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Resnick (By: John Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at
Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus (By: Faye Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Inspector Morse (2022)Description / Buy at
Dismas Hardy (By: John Lescroart) (2022)Description / Buy at
Bob Lee Swagger (By: Stephen Hunter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Aloysius X. L. Pendergast (By: Douglas Preston) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lou Boldt (By: Ridley Pearson) (2022)Description / Buy at
Spenser (By: Robert B. Parker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlotte and Thomas Pitt (By: Anne Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
John Rebus (By: Ian Rankin) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mallory (By: Carol O'Connell) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jane Whitefield (By: Thomas Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile (By: Charles Todd) (2022)Description / Buy at
Amos Walker (By: Loren D. Estleman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Precious Ramotswe (By: Alexander McCall Smith) (2022)Description / Buy at
Maisie Dobbs (By: Jacqueline Winspear) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lincoln Lawyer (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ben Kincaid (By: William Bernhardt) (2023)Description / Buy at
Repairman Jack (By: F. Paul Wilson) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Winter's Crimes 9(1977)Description / Buy at
Crime Story Collection(2000)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Encyclopedia of Modern Crime Fiction(2002)Description / Buy at
The Detection Collection(2005)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 7(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Colin Dexter Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Colin Dexter Books

Leave a Reply