Inspector Morse is a fictional detective created by English novelist Colin Dexter. Morse works as a senior Criminal Investigation Department officer with the Thames Valley Police in Oxford. The Morse character parallels Dexter’s penchants for crosswords, English lit and cask ale. Much like any British mystery, the series is full of red herrings. From 1987 to 2000, the series was adapted into a television series by ITV.

The Inspector Morse novel series ran from 1975 to 1999, starting with Last Bus to Woodstock and ending with The Remorseful Day. Below is a list of Colin Dexter’s Inspector Morse books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector Morse Books

Last Bus to Woodstock(1975)Description / Buy at
Last Seen Wearing(1976)Description / Buy at
The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn(1977)Description / Buy at
Service of All the Dead(1979)Description / Buy at
The Dead of Jericho(1981)Description / Buy at
The Riddle of the Third Mile(1983)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Annexe 3(1986)Description / Buy at
The Wench Is Dead(1989)Description / Buy at
The Jewel That Was Ours(1989)Description / Buy at
The Way Through The Woods(1992)Description / Buy at
The Daughters of Cain(1994)Description / Buy at
Death Is Now My Neighbor(1996)Description / Buy at
The Remorseful Day(1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Morse Collections

Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories(1993)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Morse Books

Leave a Reply