Nero Wolfe is a fictional detective created by American novelist Rex Stout. The series is narrated by Nero’s assistant, Archie Goodwin. The series has been adapted into movies and television, including Meet Nero Wolfe in 1936 (adapted from Fer-de-Lance), The League of Frightened Men in 1937, several made-for-TV movies and the A&E TV series A Nero Wolfe Mystery, among others.

Rex Stout created the Nero Wolfe character in 1934. Below is a list of Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe by Rex Stout Books

Fer-de-Lance / Meet Nero Wolfe(1934)Description / Buy at
The League of Frightened Men(1935)Description / Buy at
The Rubber Band / To Kill Again(1936)Description / Buy at
The Red Box / Case of the Red Box(1937)Description / Buy at
Too Many Cooks(1938)Description / Buy at
Some Buried Caesar / The Red Bull(1939)Description / Buy at
Over My Dead Body(1940)Description / Buy at
Where There's a Will(1940)Description / Buy at
Black Orchids(1942)Description / Buy at
Not Quite Dead Enough(1944)Description / Buy at
The Silent Speaker(1946)Description / Buy at
Too Many Women(1947)Description / Buy at
And Be a Villain / More Deaths Than One(1948)Description / Buy at
Trouble in Triplicate(1949)Description / Buy at
The Second Confession(1949)Description / Buy at
Even in the Best Families / In the Best Families(1950)Description / Buy at
Three Doors to Death / Door to Death(1950)Description / Buy at
Curtains for Three(1951)Description / Buy at
Murder by the Book(1951)Description / Buy at
Prisoner's Base / Out She Goes(1952)Description / Buy at
Triple Jeopardy(1952)Description / Buy at
The Golden Spiders(1953)Description / Buy at
The Black Mountain(1954)Description / Buy at
Three Men Out(1954)Description / Buy at
Before Midnight(1955)Description / Buy at
Might as Well Be Dead(1956)Description / Buy at
Three Witnesses(1956)Description / Buy at
If Death Ever Slept(1957)Description / Buy at
Three for the Chair(1957)Description / Buy at
And Four to Go / Crime and Again(1958)Description / Buy at
Champagne for One(1958)Description / Buy at
Plot it Yourself / Murder in Style(1959)Description / Buy at
Three at Wolfe's Door(1960)Description / Buy at
Too Many Clients(1960)Description / Buy at
The Final Deduction(1961)Description / Buy at
Homicide Trinity(1962)Description / Buy at
Gambit(1962)Description / Buy at
The Mother Hunt(1963)Description / Buy at
Trio for Blunt Instruments(1964)Description / Buy at
A Right to Die(1964)Description / Buy at
The Doorbell Rang(1965)Description / Buy at
Death of a Doxy(1966)Description / Buy at
The Father Hunt(1968)Description / Buy at
Death of a Dude(1969)Description / Buy at
Please Pass The Guilt(1973)Description / Buy at
A Family Affair(1975)Description / Buy at
Death Times Three(1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe Short Stories/Novellas

Bitter End(1997)Description / Buy at
Disguise for Murder / The Twisted Scarf(2000)Description / Buy at
Booby Trap(2013)Description / Buy at
Cordially Invited to Meet Death(2014)Description / Buy at
The Last Drive: And Other Stories(2015)Description / Buy at
Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Mo, and FLO! / Eeny Meeny Murder Mo(2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nero Wolfe Mysteries by Robert Goldsborough Books

Murder in E Minor(1986)Description / Buy at
Death on Deadline(1987)Description / Buy at
The Bloodied Ivy(1988)Description / Buy at
The Last Coincidence(1989)Description / Buy at
Fade to Black(1990)Description / Buy at
Silver Spire(1992)Description / Buy at
The Missing Chapter(1993)Description / Buy at
Archie Meets Nero Wolfe(2012)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Ball Park(2014)Description / Buy at
Archie in the Crosshairs(2015)Description / Buy at
Stop the Presses!(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder, Stage Left(2017)Description / Buy at
The Battered Badge(2018)Description / Buy at
Death of an Art Collector(2019)Description / Buy at
Archie Goes Home(2020)Description / Buy at
Trouble at the Brownstone(2021)Description / Buy at
The Missing Heiress(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: Fer-de-Lance was also published as Meet Nero Wolfe. The Rubber Band was also titled To Kill Again. The Red Box is also known as Case of the Red Box. Some Buried Caesar was also published as The Red Bull. And Be a Villain was also titled More Deaths Than One. Even in the Best Families was also titled In the Best Families. Three Doors to Death was also titled Door to Death. Prisoner’s Base was also titled Out She Goes. And Four to Go was also published as Crime And Again. Plot It Yourself is also known as Murder in Style.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Nero Wolfe Books

One Response to “Order of Nero Wolfe Books”

  1. cepsluvr: 10 years ago

    Prisoner’s Base was actually published as Out Goes She, and since all the other “threesomes” are included in the main list, why not Three at Wolfe’s Door?


Leave a Reply