John D. MacDonald (1916-1986) was an American author who was best known for crime and suspense novels, including the popular Travis McGee novels. MacDonald is very highly regarded by his fellow authors, including Dean Koontz and Stephen King.

John D. MacDonald’s career as a novelist begun in 1950 with The Brass Cupcake in 1950. From there, he wrote several novels per year and quickly became a very prolific author. By the time of his passing, he had written nearly 100 books and short story collections. Below is a list of John D. MacDonald’s books in order of the books were originally released:

Publication Order of Travis McGee Books

The Deep Blue Good-By (1964)Description / Buy at
Nightmare in Pink (1964)Description / Buy at
A Purple Place for Dying (1964)Description / Buy at
The Quick Red Fox (1964)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Shade of Gold (1965)Description / Buy at
Bright Orange for the Shroud (1965)Description / Buy at
Darker Than Amber (1966)Description / Buy at
One Fearful Yellow Eye (1966)Description / Buy at
Pale Gray for Guilt (1968)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (1968)Description / Buy at
Dress Her in Indigo (1969)Description / Buy at
The Long Lavender Look (1970)Description / Buy at
A Tan and Sandy Silence (1971)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Ruse (1972)Description / Buy at
The Turquoise Lament (1973)Description / Buy at
The Dreadful Lemon Sky (1974)Description / Buy at
The Empty Copper Sea (1978)Description / Buy at
The Green Ripper (1979)Description / Buy at
Free Fall in Crimson (1981)Description / Buy at
Cinnamon Skin (1982)Description / Buy at
The Lonely Silver Rain (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Brass Cupcake (1950)Description / Buy at
Judge Me Not (1951)Description / Buy at
Weep For Me (1951)Description / Buy at
Wine of the Dreamers (1951)Description / Buy at
Murder for the Bride (1951)Description / Buy at
The Damned (1952)Description / Buy at
Ballroom of the Skies (1952)Description / Buy at
Planet of the Dreamers (1953)Description / Buy at
Cancel All Our Vows (1953)Description / Buy at
Neon Jungle (1953)Description / Buy at
Dead Low Tide (1953)Description / Buy at
Area of Suspicion (1954)Description / Buy at
All These Condemned (1954)Description / Buy at
Contrary Pleasure (1954)Description / Buy at
A Bullet for Cinderella (1955)Description / Buy at
On the Make (1955)Description / Buy at
Cry Hard, Cry Fast (1955)Description / Buy at
Border Town Girl / Five Star Fugitive / Linda (1956)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Wind / Hurricane (1956)Description / Buy at
April Evil (1956)Description / Buy at
A Man of Affairs (1957)Description / Buy at
Death Trap (1957)Description / Buy at
The Empty Trap (1957)Description / Buy at
The Deceivers (1958)Description / Buy at
Clemmie (1958)Description / Buy at
Soft Touch (1958)Description / Buy at
Cape Fear / The Executioners (1958)Description / Buy at
The Beach Girls (1959)Description / Buy at
You Live Once / Kill Me (1959)Description / Buy at
The Crossroads (1959)Description / Buy at
Please Write for Details (1959)Description / Buy at
The End of the Night (1960)Description / Buy at
The Only Girl in the Game (1960)Description / Buy at
Slam the Big Door (1960)Description / Buy at
Where is Janice Gantry? (1961)Description / Buy at
One Monday We Killed Them All (1961)Description / Buy at
A Key to the Suite (1962)Description / Buy at
On the Run (1962)Description / Buy at
A Flash of Green (1962)Description / Buy at
The Girl, the Gold Watch & Everything (1962)Description / Buy at
I Could Go on Singing (1963)Description / Buy at
The Drowner (1963)Description / Buy at
Deadly Welcome (1965)Description / Buy at
The Last One Left (1967)Description / Buy at
No Deadly Drug (1968)Description / Buy at
The Price of Murder (1972)Description / Buy at
Condominium (1977)Description / Buy at
Two (1983)Description / Buy at
One More Sunday (1984)Description / Buy at
Barrier Island (1986)Description / Buy at
Hurricane (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Good Old Stuff (1961)Description / Buy at
End of the Tiger and Other Stories (1966)Description / Buy at
Seven (1971)Description / Buy at
Other Times, Other Worlds (1978)Description / Buy at
More Good Old Stuff (1984)Description / Buy at
Death Quotient and Other Stories (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Murder Run-Around (2015)Description / Buy at
In a Small Motel (2017)Description / Buy at
What Christmas Did for Jerusha Grumble (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Masters of Noir Books


Masters of Noir (By: ) (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hard-Boiled Detectives(1953)Description / Buy at
Worlds to Come: New Science Fiction Adventures(1967)Description / Buy at
Tomorrow 1| Science Fiction by the Masters(1971)Description / Buy at
Space Suits & Gumshoes(1972)Description / Buy at
The Late Great Future(1976)Description / Buy at
Dark Crimes 2(1993)Description / Buy at
Florida Stories(1993)Description / Buy at
Law and Order(1997)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Merry(2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like John D. MacDonald Books, You’ll Love…

John D. MacDonald Synopses: The 20th book of the Travis McGee series is Cinnamon Skin, where McGee’s friend Meyer’s boat explodes in the Florida Keys with his niece Norma on it. Is it a coincidence that Norma’s husband Evan wasn’t on the boat at the time of the explosion?

Lonely Silver Rain is the 21st and final book of John D. MacDonald’s Travis McGee series. Travis McGee has never seriously contemplated death until he finds himself in the middle of the international cocaine trade while searching for a friend’s yacht.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John D. MacDonald Books

Leave a Reply