Cyril Hare is the pen name of English novelist Alfred Alexander Gordon Clark (1900-1958), who wrote mystery novels. In school, he won a prize for writing English verse, and went on to study history at Oxford University. He then pursued a legal career, practicing civil and criminal law. He began his writing career when he was 36 years old. He would use his experiences at his various legal positions for inspiration for his novels. He passed away from tuberculosis at age 57.

Cyril Hare made his debut as a novelist in 1937 with the novel Tenant for Death. Below is a list of Cyril Hare’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Inspector Mallett Books

Tenant for Death (1937)Description / Buy at
Death is No Sportsman (1938)Description / Buy at
Suicide Excepted (1939)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Mallett and Francis Pettigrew Books

Tragedy at Law (1942)Description / Buy at
He Should Have Died Hereafter / Untimely Death (1958)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Francis Pettigrew Books

With a Bare Bodkin (1946)Description / Buy at
When the Wind Blows / The Wind Blows Death (1949)Description / Buy at
That Yew Tree's Shade / Death Walks the Woods (1954)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Magic Bottle (1946)Description / Buy at
An English Murder (1951)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Death Among Friends and Other Detective Stories (1959)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

English Country House Murders(1988)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Card Crime and Other Stories(2018)Description / Buy at
The Edinburgh Mystery: And Other Tales of Scottish Crime(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cyril Hare Books, You’ll Love…

Cyril Hare Synopses: An English Murder is a standalone novel by Cyril Hare. Warbeck Hall is an old-fashioned English country house, complete with English-style murders. All the classic ingredients are present: Christmas decorations, tea and cake, a faithful butler, a foreigner, snow falling, and an interesting cast of characters thrown together. The murders and detective work are hardly conventional though…

In The Magic Bottle by Cyril Hare, when Philip and his sister Mary opened the oddly-shaped bottle and found that they had released a Djinn, Philip, who knew his Arabian Nights, feared the worst. But the Djinn was an unexpected kind of Djinn, and his release was the start of some very unexpected adventures…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cyril Hare Books

Leave a Reply