Josephine Tey was the pen name of Scottish author Elizabeth Mackintosh (1896-1952), who wrote mystery novels. She also wrote historical fiction as Gordon Daviot. She came up with the pen name “Josephine Tey” from her mother’s first name (Josephine) and her grandmother’s maiden name (Tey). She is best known for her novel The Daughter of Time, which was named by the Crime Writers’ Association as the greatest mystery novel of all time in 1990.

Josephine Tey became a published author in 1929 with the novels Kif and The Man in the Queue (both writing as Gordon Daviot). She made her debut as Josephine Tey in 1931 with The Expensive Halo. Below is a list of Josephine Tey’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Inspector Alan Grant Books

The Man in the Queue / Killer in the Crowd (1929)Description / Buy at
A Shilling for Candles (1936)Description / Buy at
The Franchise Affair (1948)Description / Buy at
To Love and Be Wise (1950)Description / Buy at
The Daughter of Time (1951)Description / Buy at
The Singing Sands (1952)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Kif: An Unvarnished History (1929)Description / Buy at
The Expensive Halo (1931)Description / Buy at
Miss Pym Disposes (1946)Description / Buy at
Brat Farrar / Come and Kill Me (1949)Description / Buy at
The Privateer (1952)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Edinburgh Mystery: And Other Tales of Scottish Crime(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Man in the Queue was also published as Killer in the Crowd. Brat Farrar was also titled Come and Kill Me. Kif: An Unvarnished History and The Man in the Queue were written as Gordon Daviot.

If You Like Josephine Tey Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Josephine Tey Books

Leave a Reply