David Williams
David Williams (1926-2003) was a Welsh author of crime fiction novels. His series included the Mark Treasure and the Inspector Parry series. Williams studied at Hereford Cathedral School and St. John’s College, Oxford. In the middle of university, he went off to serve as an officer with the Royal Navy during World War II. Williams would go on to as a medical copywriter until a stroke caused him to become a crime writer instead. He had already started writing crime fiction in his spare time.

David Williams’ first novel was Unholy Writ, which was published in 1976. He wrote a total of 23 novels, with the last one being the 2003 novel Practise to Deceive. Below is a list of David Williams’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Inspector Parry Books

Last Seen Breathing (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of a Prodigal (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead in the Market (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Terminal Case (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Suicide Intended (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Practise to Deceive (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Mark Treasure Books

Unholy Writ (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure by Degrees (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure Up in Smoke (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder for Treasure (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Copper, Gold and Treasure (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure Preserved (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Advertise for Treasure (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in Advent (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wedding Treasure (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure in Roubles (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Divided Treasure (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure in Oxford (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Holy Treasure! (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Prescription for Murder (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Treasure by Post (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Planning On Murder (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Banking on Murder (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Criminal Intentions (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

From Kinglake to Kabul(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The anthology From Kinglake to Kabul is edited with Neil Grant.

If You Like David Williams Books, You’ll Love…

David Williams Synopses: Murder for Treasure by David Williams is the fourth book in the Mark Treasure series. Could the takeover of Rigley’s Patent Footbalm by the American Hutstacker Chemical Corporation be ruined by Mrs. Ogomore Davies’ parrot finding a body in Panty Harbour? It looked like it, but banker/sleuth Mark Treasure felt otherwise once a second body was found shortly after he arrived in the village.

Last Seen Breathing by David Williams is the first book to feature Inspector Parry. The quiet market town of Tawrbach is deeply shocked by the accidental death of former actress and rich widow Rhonwen Spencer Griffith. Then her son, Elwyn dies. Inspector Merlin Parry receives evidence that suggests Elwyn was not above a bit of blackmail. Tawrbach may never be the same again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Williams Books

Leave a Reply