Dorothy Eden
Dorothy Eden (1912-1982) was a New Zealand author of historical, suspense, mystery, romance and Gothic novels. Dorothy attended school and worked as a legal secretary in Canterbury Plains, New Zealand. Following a trip around the world, she fell in love with England. She moved there in 1954 and spent the rest of her life there. As a novelist, Dorothy was renowned for her ability to create fear and suspense. This earned her many devoted readers throughout her lifetime. She died of cancer in London in 1982.

Dorothy Eden made her debut as a published novelist in 1940 with the novel The Singing Shadows, which is an incredibly rare title to find. Below is a list of Dorothy Eden’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Laughing Ghost (1943)Description / Buy at
The Schoolmaster's Daughter/The Daughters of Ardmore Hall (1946)Description / Buy at
Walk into My Parlour (1947)Description / Buy at
Crow Hollow (1950)Description / Buy at
The Voice of the Dolls (1950)Description / Buy at
Cats Prey/Let Us Prey (1952)Description / Buy at
Lamb To The Slaughter/The Brooding Lake (1953)Description / Buy at
Bride By Candlelight (1954)Description / Buy at
Darling Clementine/Night Of The Letter (1955)Description / Buy at
Death Is A Red Rose (1955)Description / Buy at
The Pretty Ones (1957)Description / Buy at
Listen to Danger (1957)Description / Buy at
The Deadly Travellers (1959)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Bride (1959)Description / Buy at
Afternoon Walk (1960)Description / Buy at
Samantha/Lady of Mallow (1960)Description / Buy at
Sleep in the Woods (1960)Description / Buy at
Afternoon For Lizards (1961)Description / Buy at
Face of An Angel (1961)Description / Buy at
Shadow Of A Witch (1962)Description / Buy at
Whistle for the Crows (1962)Description / Buy at
The Bird in the Chimney/Darkwater (1963)Description / Buy at
Bella/Ravenscroft (1964)Description / Buy at
The Marriage Chest (1965)Description / Buy at
Never Call It Loving (1966)Description / Buy at
Siege in the Sun (1967)Description / Buy at
Winterwood (1967)Description / Buy at
Shadow Wife (1967)Description / Buy at
The Vines of Yarrabee (1968)Description / Buy at
Melbury Square (1970)Description / Buy at
Waiting for Willa (1970)Description / Buy at
Speak to Me of Love (1971)Description / Buy at
The Millionaire's Daughter (1974)Description / Buy at
Time of the Dragon (1975)Description / Buy at
The Salamanca Drum (1977)Description / Buy at
The Storrington Papers (1978)Description / Buy at
The American Heiress (1980)Description / Buy at
Important Family (1982)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Yellow Is for Fear (1968)Description / Buy at
House on Hay Hill (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Gothic Treasure Trove(1987)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Schoolmaster’s Daughter is also known as The Daughters of Ardmore Hall. Cat’s Prey was also published as Let Us Prey. Lamb to the Slaughter is also known as The Brooding Lake. Darling Clementine was also released as Night of the Letter. Samantha is also known as Lady of Mallow. Afternoon for Lizards was also published as Bridge of Fear. The Bird in the Chimney is also known as Darkwater. Bella was also published as Ravenscroft. The novels Face of an Angel and Shadow of a Witch were written under the pen name Mary Paradise. Omnibus books also contain books by other authors.

If You Like Dorothy Eden Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy Eden Synopses: In The Deadly Travellers by Dorothy Eden, the heroine is on the case when a small Italian girl, whom she was escorting across Europe, vanishes on the Paris Express.

The Sleeping Bride by Dorothy Eden is a suspense novel in which a disappearing bride is the climax to a series of oddly disturbing events, and the girl’s sister, aided by the bridegroom, decides to start her own investigation.

In Sleep in the Woods by Dorothy Eden, Beautiful Briar Johnson had set her eyes on Peter Fanshawe, her friend Sophie’s suitor, hoping to trap him into marriage. But her plot was unexpectedly thwarted by the most eligible bachelor in town.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy Eden Books

Leave a Reply